Image

Greek Inspired Pasta Dish

26 Sep

Pasta is one of the easiest and most malleable dishes to make (so you can expect to see many pasta dishes). It’s kinda like Meryl Streep, that woman has so many characters and such a broad range, but underneath it all is a familiar face. But I digress, back to pasta. You can put just about any meat you want in it, or no meat at all and it’s still filling. Same goes for the veggies, it all depends on what you like and if you’re going for a theme. Everything goes with pasta, or at least, I haven’t found anything that hasn’t. So don’t be afraid to take a risk and add any veggies/meats you like! I had half a bell pepper left over so I chopped that up as well. The recipe for the Chicken Greek Pasta is below. I paired it with a Riesling by Fetzer. I love their wine by the way. It’s reasonably priced and has such a wonderful flavor. I’m a big fan of Rieslings and since I’m on a tight budget, Fetzer fits the bill. Oh, and the dish is from IKEA. For those of you on Facebook you may recognize this dish from a few weeks ago. After a friend asked for the recipe and then reported back success, I knew I wanted to start the blog off with this!

Greek Inspired Pasta Dish

Linguine with spinach, sun dried tomatoes, onion, bell pepper, grilled chicken and Feta Cheese.

CHICKEN GREEK PASTA WITH FETA (makes 2 servings)

4 oz Linguine (or any pasta of your choice, 2 oz for each person)
3 oz Grilled Chicken (I used pre-cooked to cut down on prep & cooking time)
Fresh Baby Spinach, 2 handfuls
2 Spoonfuls of Sun Dried Tomatoes soaked in Olive Oil (I used julienne cut)
1/4 Small Onion, chopped
1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
Dried Basil to taste (optional)
Salt & Pepper to taste

In a medium pot boil about 3 qts of water. I usually salt the water. (Yes, there’s a big debate about salting pasta water which I will save for another post.) Cook the pasta for about 7 minutes. Drain, but save about a tablespoon of water and mix back in with pasta.

While you wait for the water to boil work on the fixings.
In a medium saucepan saute the onions in the olive oil, after a few minutes throw in the spinach. Once the onions and spinach start to cook down, toss in the chicken. I scoop a couple spoonfuls of jarred sun dried tomatoes into the pan. Salt, pepper to taste. I also use about a teaspoon or two of dried basil. Mix together with drained pasta. Sprinkle with feta and enjoy!

4 Responses to “Greek Inspired Pasta Dish”

  1. Theresa Soto September 30, 2012 at 3:09 am #

    Thanks for sharing this Sarah! It was easy to make and tasted great!

  2. actinglikeachef September 30, 2012 at 4:10 am #

    I’m so glad!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy Greek Pasta With Chicken | Acting Like A Chef - July 12, 2013

    […] of the first recipes I shared on my blog was a Greek pasta dish and I’m here to share another one. This one is very simple and can be made in less than 20 […]

  2. One Year of Blogging | Acting Like A Chef - September 24, 2013

    […] realize till much later that it was a post! Ha! So my first post that I shared with everyone was my Greek Pasta that I had actually made earlier in the summer and was the catalyst for me to choose a cooking […]

Leave a Reply

