Kid Approved!

4 Oct

Well it’s official, I am kid approved! I received my first award from the son of my friends Angel Parker and Eric Nenninger at dinner last night (that will be a future post), “Best Cook Ever”. It even came in the awesome form of a hat! I feel very honored.

Best Cook Ever

Getting kids to eat more than chicken nuggets and fries (or Cheerios…) I think, will always be a big battle for parents. And my parents can tell you stories about their own battle with me. Growing up we were always told that we had to at least try everything put in front of us and if we didn’t like it, we knew where the Cheerios were. Well, I ate a lot of Cheerios growing up. And I don’t think I even started eating onions until I was at least 12 or 13. But I was definitely eating “cool” food like hummus by high school. So have hope parents, kids can grow out of eating butter and bread for dinner (don’t worry, I stopped doing that by kindergarten) and grow into adults that love and respect food. Maybe they’ll start their own restaurant or create their own blog. Just be patient and promise me you won’t force them to eat carrot soup. (Sorry mom and dad, but that was the worst thing I’ve ever eaten growing up.)

My first cooking award!

3 Responses to “Kid Approved!”

  1. Bertie Keuter October 7, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    What fun!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stuffed Chicken With Friends « Acting Like A Chef - October 12, 2012

    […] as well, but today I want to share my dinner with my friends Angel and Eric (their son gave me my first award). Angel and I struck a deal, I cook them dinner and she dyes my hair. (I’m a natural blonde, […]

  2. Home Cooking-Smoked Pesto Chicken « Acting Like A Chef - October 19, 2012

    […] guess you can guess where my love of food came from. Granted I wasn’t always the best eater (Cheerios anyone?), but a love of food was instilled in me and my siblings from the very beginning. This may be the […]

Leave a Reply

