Stuffed Chicken With Friends

12 Oct

Angel is very excited!

Cooking is fun. Cooking for others is even more fun. Food is communal, but with more and more of us on the go these days a sit down dinner can be rare. Even rarer, home cooked meals with friends. It’s easier to go out somewhere with friends, and you can be sure I’ll be sharing those events as well, but today I want to share my dinner with my friends Angel and Eric (their son gave me my first award). Angel and I struck a deal, I cook them dinner and she dyes my hair. (I’m a natural blonde, but am loving being a red-head these days!) This was my third time over and the previous times I cooked two of my favorite dishes that I’ve been cooking since college, Chicken Vallarta and Chili Mac (both of which I’ll cover in future posts). This time I decided to try something I had only done once, Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Caramelized Onions and Brie. Doesn’t that just sound yummy?

Stuffing chicken is not easy. It’s not difficult, but it’s something that takes practice. Well this girl needs more practice. Because you have to create a pocket in the breast, many times you’ll cut in too far. For us home cooks that’s okay because we’re not being reviewed by the LA Times, but I still want to perfect it. So don’t fret if you cut through accidentally, the stuffing will still be in the chicken and give it a delicious flavor!

For a side dish I made oven fried rosemary potatoes. Super easy and they cook while you’re working on the chicken (which takes time). Before I get into the recipes, be sure you have the time to do this one, it took about an hour from prep to dish, but worth every minute of waiting (and smelling).

The final product-yum!

CHICKEN BREASTS STUFFED WITH CARAMELIZED ONIONS & BRIE (serves 4)

  • Four 4-6 oz. boneless chicken breasts
  • Half a small to medium onion
  • 4 oz of brie
  • 6 garlic cloves
  • Fresh Sage (a few leaves)
  • 1 can of chicken broth
  • 2/3 cup white wine
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

In a medium saucepan heat about a teaspoon of oil on medium heat (I always make sure the bottom of the pan is coated). Slice the onion and toss 3/4 of it into the pan. (Set the other 1/4 of it aside as you will chop up for the sauce.) Stir occasionally. While you wait for the onions to cook down (they should be getting glossy and almost translucent), take 4 garlic cloves and slice finely. Be sure to remove the skin first! Use a small paring knife and be very careful-I don’t want you slicing your finger off! Side note: easy way to remove the skin, cut off the butt end of the clove and the skin will peel off easily. Stir in 1/3 cup wine and continue cooking until most of the liquid has evaporated (about 4-6 minutes depending on the heat of your stove). Take your brie and cut the rind off and stir into the pan. Salt and pepper to taste. Once the brie has melted down pour the mixture into a soup bowl. It will be easier to spoon into the chicken this way.

Take your small paring knife (make sure it’s sharp) and cut about a two inch slit in the thickest part of the chicken breast, just don’t cut through

Chicken breasts stuffed with caramelized onions and brie mixture before cooking

(hard, I know).  Keep the chicken on a cutting board and be sure to cut parallel to the board. You want to create a pocket to put your stuffing mixture into, so use the knife to carve out that pocket. If you do cut through, don’t stress, I promise it will still work, it just might be a little messier in the pan. Spoon as much of your onion-brie mixture as you can fit in the pocket. If you did cut through any of the sides by accident, try to use other pieces of the breast to “plug” the hole. When you cook it, it will “fuse” so it won’t leak. Weird sounding, I know, but trust me. Once they’re all stuffed put another teaspoon of oil in the pan over medium-high heat and place the chicken in the pan. Cook each side about 5-7 minutes.

While the chicken is cooking, chop the sage finely so you have about a tablespoon of fresh sage. Next, take the other 2 garlic cloves and chop those finely as well. Side Note: a trick to chopping garlic, cut the butt end off (like above), then take the flat side of your knife and place on the large side of the garlic so it sits on the chopping board. Press down with the heel of your hand so the clove “opens”, then chop finely. Take the rest of your onion and chop finely. Once the chicken is done, remove to a plate and cover to keep warm, then pour in the other 1/3 cup of wine, chopped sage, onion and garlic and cook for about 2 minutes, again over medium-high heat. (If you have any extra of the onion-brie mixture, throw it into the pan to be part of the sauce-double yum!) Stir in the chicken broth and bring to a boil and let it reduce to about 3/4 to 1 cup. Put your chicken back into the pan and reduce heat to low. Let the chicken warm up again while you prep your plates (and probably your side dish). Serve with sauce and enjoy!

ROASTED ROSEMARY or SAGE POTATOES

  • 1/4 lb per person of small red potatoes
  • Fresh Sage or Rosemary
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Eric enjoyed his dinner the following night and was ready! Leftovers are yummy too!

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Get out an oven safe pan (I use a cookie sheet, you can also use a cast iron pan) and spread the fresh sage/rosemary around along with olive oil, salt and pepper. Cut the potatoes in half (or in thirds if especially large) and spread out with the cut side down. If you like garlic you crush some up and add that to the pan. Kosher salt, white pepper or herbs de provence also work really well! Stick them in the over and cook for about 30-40 minutes depending on how crunchy you like them. With the above chicken recipe, I put the potatoes in after I started the onions.

3 Responses to “Stuffed Chicken With Friends”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gindi Thai And Lesly Kahn « Acting Like A Chef - October 22, 2012

    […] & Company. I was referred to LK & Co by my friends Angel & Eric (remember them from a previous post) and I LOVE it there! In my first class there I met Moe and 10 other amazing actors and we bonded […]

  2. Dinner By Dad « Acting Like A Chef - November 7, 2012

    […] decided to just eat the prosciutto. The rosemary potatoes have already been discussed on my blog (here’s that post), and the salmon will be discussed soon enough, as I will make salmon soon. I have the recipes from […]

  3. Chicken Stuffed With Spinach | Acting Like A Chef - February 22, 2013

    […] and try stuffing a chicken breast again. This time with the above mentioned items. (Remember my stuffed chicken with onions and cheese? Stuffing a chicken breast ain’t easy.) This time I decided to try a different technique-I […]

Leave a Reply

