Steel-Cut Oatmeal

15 Oct

I LOVE breakfast. It’s my favorite meal of the day. It’s also an important part of your day. I know some of you don’t eat breakfast, or you just have coffee or tea, but seriously, you’re doing your body a disservice. A good breakfast can help your body burn more calories during the day and curb cravings. Plus, breakfast foods are so yummy! Who doesn’t love pancakes?

Steel Cut Oats

My go to breakfast, especially on busy mornings, is oatmeal. It’s healthy, gives you great energy, and can be made with lots of different add-ins! Most of the time I eat instant maple & brown sugar with fruit (usually fresh blueberries or dried cranberries). It has just enough sweet for me since oatmeal tends to be bland by itself and the fruit adds that extra goodness. It’s also fast and easy to make. But every now and then I have time to make traditional steel-cut oatmeal, which is even more healthy! Wait, is that correct grammar? I think it is, I’ll assume it is. So how healthy is oatmeal? Well I found a great article from the Nutrition Diva that talks all about the different forms of oatmeal and the benefits.Β  Why re-write what she has already said so eloquently?

While I usually make this on a Saturday or Sunday morning, because it takes some time, many people make it the night before. I use Bob’s Red Mill Steel Cut Oats, which I can usually find at Ralph’s, but Whole Foods always has it. I have my mom to thank for teaching me about steel-cut oatmeal. This is her breakfast everyday, although hers is like the ultimate super oatmeal and deserves it’s very own post on another day. As for me, I like to keep it simple: steel-cut oats, fruit and brown sugar.

Steel cut oatmeal with brown sugar and blueberries

STEEL CUT OATMEAL-SIMPLE (4 servings)

  • 1 cup Bob’s Red Mill Steel Cut Oats
  • 4 cups water
  • Fresh Blueberries (or other fruit of your choosing) or Dried Fruit of your choosing
  • Brown Sugar (optional)

After about 15 minutes of cooking.

In a large pot that has a cover bring to a boil 4 cups of water. (Red Mill also suggests adding 1/4 teaspoon of salt, it’s optional and won’t change it one way or another.) Add 1 cup of steel oats, reduce the heat to low and cover. Stir occasionally. The package says to cook 10-20 minutes, but I have found that it takes more like 20-25 minutes to get the consistency I like, which is fully cooked through and just mushy enough but not too mushy. (Mushy is another one of those technical terms, like yummy.) You want all the water to be absorbed into the oats so you’re not drinking your oatmeal. Unless you like it that way. When making in the morning I eat one serving fresh and put the rest in Tupperware in the fridge. One serving equals 1/2 cup. I put about a spoonful of brown sugar and a small handful of fresh blueberries (which is about 20-25. Yes, I counted them. On my instant it’s only 15 since it’s a smaller amount of oatmeal. Insert laughter here.) Stir it all up and enjoy! I enjoy it with a hot cup of Peet’s coffee. Mmmm!

FOR THE FRIDGE & RE-HEATING:
Include about 3-4 tablespoons of milk in the container. The milk helps re-hydrate the oats when re-heating. Pull one out in the morning and heat in microwave for 1 minute. Then break up the oatmeal in smaller chunks and heat for another minute. Add your brown sugar and fruit of choice and enjoy!

OTHER ADD-IN OPTIONS:
Strawberries, Bananas, Blackberries, Raisins, Dried Cranberries, Nuts of your choosing, Honey, Cinnamon, Nutmeg

What do you put in your oatmeal? Or do you have any suggestions? Leave a comment below to share with everyone!

Leave a Reply

