Pauper’s Breakfast

30 Oct

Breakfast….mmmmm…I get hungry just writing the word! As I’ve said before, I love breakfast, and most mornings I have oatmeal. But on mornings that I work from home, or weekends that I don’t have to go anywhere anytime soon, I love to make eggs. And I’ll make them lots of ways too. Scrambled, over easy, in an omlette, or au plat (thanks to my semester abroad in France). Eggs are another one of those great breakfast foods. Lowers your risk of cancer, good for the eyes, hair and nails, among other health benefits. Check out this article from Women’s Health. Oh, and did you know one egg is less than 100 calories? So my two eggs and a piece of toast with butter comes in at under 300 calories, but with enough protein to last me till lunch and it’s nice to my waistline. Hard not to be happy!

Two eggs au plat and buttered toast

EGGS AU PLAT AND TOAST

  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 1 Piece Whole Wheat Bread
  • Butter or Jam

Eggs about halfway done. You can see the edges are white and the area closer to the yolks is still semi-clear.

In a small skillet (I use an 8 inch skillet) spray with cooking spray (I use Pam) and put on medium heat. Or if you want something a little richer (and a few more calories) you can use about 2-3 teaspoons of olive oil or butter. When making an omlette I find that works a little better as there’s less sticking to the pan. But alas, I digress, for over easy/medium/hard (however you like your eggs) or au plat, spraying with Pam is the way to go. Once the pan is warm (I hold my hand over it and when I can feel the heat I know it’s ready, usually about 30 seconds or so), crack one egg and open over pan about an inch or two above, then repeat for the second egg. (If you like 3 eggs then repeat a third time.) I like to put my eggs near each other in the pan so they kind of act like a dam to each other and the ends don’t get too thin. The egg whites should go from clear-ish to white and look soft, and the edges should be slightly browned. I take a spatula and slide under the eggs and move around the pan a little bit, just to make sure they’re evenly cooked*. Then I remove from the pan to a waiting plate.

Once I crack the eggs I put my bread in the toaster. It’s usually done just before my eggs are done. Spread with butter or jam/jelly and it’s a delicious addition to my eggs. I love dipping my toast into my yolks-yummmm! Enjoy with a mug of your favorite coffee (mine is Peet’s) and enjoy your morning.

*If you want to do the eggs over easy/medium/hard, this is the point to carefully flip over each egg. I usually do mine over easy, so they only cook “over” for less than a minute. The harder you want the yolks, leave it longer until the yolks are cooked how you like them.

Leave a Reply

