Dinner By Dad

7 Nov

Remember when I went home and my dad smoked chicken and my mom made beef jerky? (Here’s the post just in case you missed it!) Well I was lucky enough to head home for a second weekend, this time to celebrate with my friend at her baby shower. It meant I had a dinner at home too! My parents also had friends visiting from out of state, so it was a nice traditional dinner (you know, no TV and eating at the dining room table and not the kitchen table). Dinner consisted of baked salmon, roasted rosemary potatoes, roasted asparagus wrapped in prosciutto and a baked squash and apple mixture. We opened a bottle of Malbec and devoured the meal. Dessert was Greek Yogurt with brandied figs (canned by my dad). Um, yum!

Clockwise From Top: Roasted Squash and Baked Apples, Roasted Rosemary Potatoes, Baked Salmon, Asparagus wrapped in Prosciutto,

Now I’m not a huge asparagus fan, but I still tried some, then decided to just eat the prosciutto. The rosemary potatoes have already been discussed on my blog (here’s that post), and the salmon will be discussed soon enough, as I will make salmon soon. I have the recipes from my dad for the side dishes and am just waiting for an opportunity to make them myself. I would say a good 90% of all my recipes come from my dad. I grew up with him cooking dinner every night for us. While my mom does cook too, her job was out of town, while dad worked 10 minutes from home so he’d be home by 5pm. I feel lucky that both my parents cook and bake, but I feel doubly lucky that I had home cooked meals most nights. Except for the occasional Tuesday, as that was family night at our local pizza place-what a treat! So now when I visit my parents, I get excited not just to see them, but to see what they have cooking in the kitchen.

I also want to say that my parents are great supporters of my chosen profession. While I know plenty of actors who have little or no support from their parents, I think it makes all the difference when you can proudly talk about the work you’re doing to those who love you the most. From the night I called to tell them I was moving to LA, to each time they drive down to see a show I’m acting in or stage managing, knowing I have their support makes all the difference.

Do your parents have a signature dish that you look forward to enjoying when visiting home? Or what about a favorite restaurant that you always go to? Share your stories in a comment below.

2 Responses to “Dinner By Dad”

  1. Mary Ann Williams November 7, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Aren’t home cooked meals the BEST? 🙂 My mom passed down many Taiwanese culinary traditions to me and I love cooking them all. That dinner looks delish! (ps – I’ll have your asparagus!)

    • actinglikeachef November 8, 2012 at 10:33 am #

      and your mama is a delicious cook! i still think about those meat pie things 🙂 and yes, you can have my asparagus any day! LOL

Leave a Reply

