Banana Blueberry Muffins

10 Nov

I did a poll on Facebook the other day to see which post had more interest, banana muffins or sausage, and the muffins won. But don’t you worry sausage fans, that post will come soon! Bananas are, in my opinion, one of the best fruits out there. They’re not messy, easily transportable, loaded with potassium and you can bake with them even after they go bad! Talk about not wasting your food. My dad sent me two recipes while I was in college for banana bread: “regular” and “healthy”. The big difference? Use whole wheat flour and substitute 1/2 cup of wheat germ for 1/2 cup of flour. Boom-healthy banana bread. At some point after I moved to Los Angeles I started making muffins instead of bread. They’re a great snack (especially late at night!), but I love having one with breakfast, a little extra health kick at the start of my day. You can also put a lot of add-ins to the mix like other fruits and/or nuts, whatever suits you. Whether you decide to make bread or muffins, the recipe is essentially the same. So next time you have too ripe bananas rather than throw them away, turn them into something yummy!

Fresh out of the oven!

BANANA MUFFINS (about 20 muffins or 1 large banana bread)

DRY INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/2 cups Whole Wheat Flour (2 cups if no wheat germ)
  • 1/2 cup Wheat Germ
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda

WET INGREDIENTS

  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Margarine (or Crisco Butter)
  • 1-2 tsp Water (for muffins only)
  • Juice of 1 Lemon (or 4 Tbsp Lemon Juice)
  • 3 Very Ripe Medium Bananas

OPTIONAL ADD-INS

  • Blueberries or Cranberries (dried or fresh), Walnuts, Pecans, Marmalade, Pineapple
  • 1/2 tsp Nutmeg or Cinnamon (include with dry ingredient mix)

Preheat oven to 350 (375 for bread)

In a small/medium bowl mash the bananas and add in the lemon juice. There should be as few lumps as possible. Set aside. In another medium bowl mix all your dry ingredients together and set aside.

Bananas and Lemon Juice Mixture

If you have a stand mixer I suggest using that, otherwise use a hand mixer (I got a purple Kitchen Aid one at Target) and a large bowl. For my last birthday my parents gave me their old Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer (which I think is older than me, ha!), but for many years I used a hand mixer and it works just as well, plus you get a little bit of a work out, lol. I’ll do a post about mixers soon, as it’s a vital kitchen tool and you have lots of options. So, in your large bowl, cream together your brown sugar and butter. Make sure there are no lumps. Then add your eggs and mix well. Mix on a low speed so it doesn’t splatter, especially if you use a hand mixer. Add your banana mixture next and mix well. Now you’re going to add your dry ingredients and this is where it can get especially messy. If using a stand mixer set it on your very lowest setting and if you have the pouring shield accessory put that on before

Adding the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients.

you start this and you shouldn’t have a mess. I unfortunately don’t have one, so I tend to make a small mess, lol. Slowly (very slowly) dump the dry ingredient mix into the mixer. Don’t go too fast, let the dry ingredients mix into the wet ingredients before adding more. If using a hand mixer, add a small amount, about 1/4-1/3 cup and mix in using the lowest setting. Once all the dry ingredients are mixed in you can add any of your mix-ins. For me, I usually add dried blueberries or cranberries (since I usually have them for my morning oatmeal), about a 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup, depending on how many berries you want.

Put paper muffin cups into your muffin pan. This recipe makes about 20 muffins, give or take a couple muffins depending on big you like them and how big your bananas were. I use a large soup spoon and scoop the dough mixture into the muffin cups. You should fill them about 2/3 of the way otherwise they will over flow. Place in the oven and cook for about 18-22 minutes (depending on your oven). I always check at 18 minutes with a toothpick. If it comes out clean they’re good to come out. If it has any dough on it, it needs a few more minutes. Let them cool on a wire rack and then put in a gallon size freezer bag and store in your fridge. Heat in microwave for 20 seconds and enjoy!

One Response to “Banana Blueberry Muffins”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tomato and Cheese Omelette « Acting Like A Chef - January 7, 2013

    […] as I’m sure other (more professional) chefs have also had happen. I also heated up one of my Banana Blueberry muffins and enjoyed a nice cup of Peet’s coffee. […]

Leave a Reply

