Sausage and Warm Potato Salad

13 Nov

On a Saturday afternoon I was trying to decide what to make for dinner. I had 3 red potatoes that would soon go bad if I didn’t do something fast though. I pulled out my current favorite cookbook, “The Pleasures of Cooking For One” by Judith Jones, and started leafing through. This was a book that my parents gave me for Christmas last year and is awesome! Judith had worked with the infamous Julia Child at one point in her life so many of her recipes are French inspired. The recipes are mostly pretty simple, and she talks about things like what “half an egg” actually is and making your own soup broths.

So back to my search for red potato recipes. As I leafed through I saw the words “potato salad” and “sausage” and I stopped. It was an uber simple recipe and I had most of the ingredients in my kitchen. So I made a quick run to the grocery store for the sausage (I bought a 1 lb Smoked Sausage from Hickory Farms and cut it into 4 oz pieces and froze 3 of them) and a couple other fresh ingredients needed. Before buying the sausage double check the weight, as Hillshire Farm packages a 14 oz. sausage and not a 16 oz one. While I did discover it was a slightly messy recipe, the final dish was delicious! I paired it with a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon from Terrazas de los Andes that my roommate brought back from a restaurant in San Diego. So delicious that a few nights later I unfroze another piece of sausage and made it again. (I had made 2 servings of the potato salad Saturday night.) Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Yummy deliciousness!

SAUSAGE AND WARM POTATO SALAD (2 servings)

  • 2 sausages, 3-4 oz each, your choice of flavor
  • 3 red potatoes
  • 2-3 green onions
  • 1 Tbsp Dijon Mustard
  • Red Wine Vinaigrette
  • 3 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • Splash of Red Wine
  • Salt & Pepper to Taste

In a large pot boil 4-6 cups of water. Once it’s at a roiling boil, place your potatoes in the water. Boil until they are tender and a fork can easily go in and out, but they shouldn’t be falling apart. While you are waiting for the potatoes to boil make your dressing and start your sausage.

In a small/medium bowl combine your Dijon mustard, red wine vinaigrette and olive oil and whisk. Then finely chop your green onions and add to the mix, stirring well. Set aside. In a small pan heat about a tablespoon of oil over medium-high heat. Add your sausage to the pan once it warms up, rotating it so it’s evenly cooked. It should take about 7-9 minutes depending on how hot the pan is. Once it’s done remove from pan to your plate and turn heat to low. Now comes the messy part…very carefully (slowly) and very close to the pan pour in about a tablespoon or two of your red wine. WARNING: it will splatter and you will be cleaning later (see picture below). Stir around, deglazing the pan. It will become a syrupy mixture. Pour that over your sausage on the plate. Mmmmmm……

By this time your potatoes should be done. Drain over your sink and cut up into bite size chunks on your cutting board. I like to cut the potato in half, then half, and sometimes half again. Since no two potatoes are the same, sometimes I do it each half in thirds. Either way, think “bite size” so you don’t have to cut at the dinner table. Throw into the bowl that has your dressing, add salt and pepper to taste and mix thoroughly. Divide in half for each serving and enjoy! (P.S. Save the clean-up for after!)

The dressing for the potato salad all mixed together.

After adding the red wine to the sausage pan to deglaze. Yummy sauce!

See all those spots? That would be the result of the (hot) olive oil being mixed with the (warm/cool) red wine. It was also on the wall and the rest of the stove top. Oh well.

3 Responses to “Sausage and Warm Potato Salad”

  1. Julie November 13, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

    I’ve never had warm potato salad but this sounds good! I’ll let you know when I try it out!

    • actinglikeachef November 13, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

      it’s very yummy!!! and even the second serving that I re-heated the next night was still good! I’m betting you’re going to love it even more than cold potato salad 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sausage Carbonara « Acting Like A Chef - December 10, 2012

    […] (usually something like pancetta or guanciale), but I had sausage still in my freezer (remember my Sausage and Warm Potato Salad?) so I decided to use sausage instead. Why buy more food when I have food in my freezer to use up? […]

Leave a Reply

