Super Easy Sweet Potato Meal

3 Dec

Have you ever just wanted a hot, low-fat, nutrition rich, filling and easy dinner that doesn’t come from the freezer? Well I have the solution for you! Meet the amazing sweet potato with chili on top! Growing up, I remember my mom heating a sweet potato up and putting veggies on top as her dinner or lunch, but until just this year, I had never tried it myself. My mom had sent me back to LA from their house with a small bag of “groceries” from the cupboard and one item was a single serving of vegetarian chili that was microwavable. When I got home I stuck it in my own cupboard and kind of forgot about it for a few weeks. I found it again one afternoon and thought about what I could do with it (I didn’t want to eat it alone), so I was at my local Ralph’s and thought about getting a good old russet potato to serve with the chili. I noticed the sweet potatoes were on sale and my memory of my mom popped into my head. I grabbed a good-sized one and started looking forward to dinner.

Sweet potato with meat chili ready to eat!

Sweet potato with meat chili ready to eat!

That evening, I took the sweet potato, poked some holes in it with my fork and popped it in the microwave. Yes, you can also stick it in the oven, it just takes longer, about 30 minutes.  So I popped mine in the microwave for 5 minutes and heated up the chili on the stove. They were both done about the same time. I removed the potato and cut it in half and smashed it out so it lay flat and poured the chili on top. Oh. My. God. It was so delicious I was mad at myself for not doing it sooner! Now I regularly buy a couple of sweet potatoes and a can of Stagg Chili (it has 2 servings and is also one of the best pre-made chilis on the shelf) to have just in case during the fall and winter. I get home and am starving? Dinner is done in less than 10 minutes and it wasn’t frozen. What would you want to put on your sweet potato?

8 Responses to “Super Easy Sweet Potato Meal”

  1. The Old Curmudgeon December 4, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    How about making your own “chili”? Saute a quarter pound of ground beef with one half an onion (diced), one stalk of celery (diced), one carrot (diced)one tablespoon chili powder, one can of diced (or crushed) tomatoes, a can of kidney or pinto beans, and a splash of red wine. Salt and pepper to taste and you’re ready to go. Optionally you can add a small can of corn

    • actinglikeachef December 4, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

      Yes, that’s an option too, but that requires more time, so it’s not part of the “easy dinner”. I will do a post on your chili though!

  2. The Old Curmudgeon December 4, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    The Old Curmudgeon forgot to mention a teaspoon each of oregano, garlic powder, and ground cumin, and a small can of tomato sauce.

  3. Kay East December 4, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Hi Sarah, thanks for the idea of your Sweet Potato & Chili meal. Mike & I are on vacation and we decided one of the simple meals we would like to try is this one. Attached is a picture of my version. It was just as delicious as you said it would be! Kay

    • actinglikeachef December 4, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

      I didn’t see a picture 😦 Email me and I’ll post it to the facebook page!

  4. tchistorygal December 5, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    Yum! It looks good to me. Marsha 🙂

  5. sweetaddict January 16, 2014 at 8:54 pm #

    Great idea! I always make a big batch of chili, and then wonder what to do with the little bit that is leftover. From now on, I’ll serve it on sweet ‘taters. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

