Sausage Carbonara

10 Dec

What do you when you have 1 egg? Or even worse, 1 egg yolk? Make pasta alla carbonara of course! Pasta alla carbonara is traditionally made with bacon (usually something like pancetta or guanciale), but I had sausage still in my freezer (remember my Sausage and Warm Potato Salad?) so I decided to use sausage instead. Why buy more food when I have food in my freezer to use up? So I opened my Cooking Light cookbook and found a recipe to base my cooking off of. Their recipe calls for egg substitute and reduced fat milk,  but I had a real egg to use so I also googled the traditional recipe and found one on Food Network here from the fabulous Jamie Oliver that I liked since it also used sausage (although I didn’t use it the way they say, sorry Jamie). Remember, don’t be afraid to experiment in the kitchen. You never know what kind of creations you’ll make because you decide to take a chance. Examining the two recipes I knew I could do a version that included items in my fridge. So I sent a message to my friend Erin to see if she wanted to have a girl’s night in and she agreed: she’d bring the wine and we’d watch a movie and catch up.

Dinner is served! Pasta all Carbonara with Sausage

Dinner is served! Pasta all Carbonara with Sausage

PASTA ALLA CARBONARA WITH SAUSAGE (serves 2)

  • 4 oz Fettuccine (or round spaghetti if that’s what you have)
  • 4-6 oz Sausage (depending how much you want per person)
  • 1 Egg (or 1 Egg Yolk if that’s all you happen to have, lol)
  • 2 oz Half & Half
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 1-2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • Chopped Fresh Parsley (optional)
  • 1 garlic clove (optional)
  • Sliced mushrooms (optional, used above)
Chopped Garlic, Parsley and sliced Mushrooms ready to go in the pan.

Chopped Garlic, Parsley and sliced Mushrooms ready to go in the pan.

I started water on the stove to boil for my pasta. Meanwhile, I first sliced up my sausage into about 1/4 to 1/3 inch thick slices and set aside. Then I chopped my parsley, garlic and sliced a few mushrooms that I had leftover. In a medium saucepan I heated the oil and then sautéed the garlic and mushrooms and then added the sausages. In a small to medium bowl I whisked together the half and half and egg. By this time the water should be boiling and I added in my fettuccine. Pasta takes about 7 minutes to cook al dente, but for this, drain it at 5 minutes and add to your sausage and mushrooms and reduce heat to low and stir altogether, adding salt and pepper to taste. Add your egg mixture to the pan and stir constantly so that the eggs don’t scramble, but it becomes a thick sauce. Cook for about 5 minutes. Serve and garnish with fresh parsley. Enjoy! (I apologize that I can’t recall the wine, I thought I saved the bottle, but alas, I did not.) In 2013 I will make traditional pasta alla carbonara, as it’s also a yummy and easy dish!

2 Responses to “Sausage Carbonara”

  1. Mary Ann Williams December 14, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Mmmm!! Pancetta 😀

    • actinglikeachef December 14, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

      I know right?! Next time….and you can be my guest! I’ll find gluten free pasta. (does that exist? lol)

Leave a Reply

