Pumpkin Spice Cookies for Matt

3 Jan

I’m not sure when my dad started making these cookies, but it was definitely during my college years. On a trip to Costco he found a box from Krusteaz with mixes for Pumpkin Spice Bread. It sounded delicious for the fall season so he bought one. The bread was very yummy! But also on the box was a recipe for pumpkin spice cookies (along with pancakes and waffles!)! We couldn’t say no to that and they’ve now become a staple in his baking. Those in my office love them, as do many of my friends. So when I asked my boss Matt what kind of cookies he wanted as a thank you for doing me a favor he asked for the pumpkin spice ones. He did have a special request though, he wanted me to use the cookie cutter he gave me, which was in the shape of a beer stein from New Belgium Brewing (it came with a cookie recipe which I will try this year). I said sure, no problem, not knowing the recipe wasn’t exactly built for cookie cutter cookies, lol. Oh well, I’ll try anything once! I even got white frosting (and sprinkles) for the foam head of the beer. I ended up making only 10 with the cookie cutter, the rest of the dough was formed into regular balls (about another dozen cookies). Matt loved them and shared them with his Living Room Series cast (the reading series at The Blank that I produce).

Pumpkin Spice Cookies as beer steins all frosted and with sprinkles!

Pumpkin Spice Cookies as beer steins all frosted and with sprinkles!

PUMPKIN SPICE COOKIES (2-3 dozen)

The ingredients L-R: White Cane Sugar, Crisco Shortening (butter flavor), Eggs, Pumpkin Spice Mix, Nutmeg, Cinnamon

The ingredients L-R: White Cane Sugar, Crisco Shortening (butter flavor), Eggs, Pumpkin Spice Mix, Nutmeg, Cinnamon

  • 1 Pouch Quick Bread Mix
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 Cup Butter or Margarine
  • 1/2 Cup White Sugar
  • 2-3 Tbsp White Sugar (to roll cookies in)
  • 1 Tsp Cinnamon (optional)
  • 1/4 Tsp Nutmeg (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix together on medium speed (hand or stand mixer) the egg, butter and sugar. Add in the quick bread pouch and the cinnamon and nutmeg. Mix until well blended. Normally you would roll the dough into balls about 1 inch in diameter then coat in the extra sugar and place on cookie sheet. For Matt I promised beer shaped cookies, and while my father said it shouldn’t be done, the dough isn’t the proper kind of dough for cookie cutters, I wasn’t backing down. But alas, my father was right and trying to make those cookies roll out was the hardest thing I’ve done in the kitchen. But I did it, ten times.

Had to cut each cookie out one at a time and flatten out the dough.

Had to cut each cookie out one at a time and flatten out the dough.

Rolling the cookies in white sugar

Rolling the cookies in white sugar

Ready to be baked!

Ready to be baked!

Fresh from the oven! Yummmm!

Fresh from the oven! Yummmm!

I took the rest of the dough and rolled them into balls, which was about a dozen. Once oven is ready, bake for 8-10 minutes. After removing from oven, let cool on sheet for a few minutes than transfer to a wire rack. For the cookie cutters one I took white frosting and spread at the top for the “foam” and per request, I used colored sprinkles too!

Cookie smells good! And then he ate it. Yum!

Cookie smells good! And then he ate it. Yum!

7 Responses to “Pumpkin Spice Cookies for Matt”

  1. Mrs. H January 3, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

    I’d hate to have to make a list of my favorite Bauer cookies (too long), but if I did…these would be very near the top!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mini Sugar Cookies « Acting Like A Chef - February 6, 2013

    […] crunchy cookies so this was a big plus for me. I used the white frosting I had leftover from Matt’s Pumpkin Spice cookies as well as melted chocolate chips to ice the cookies, then used sprinkles to add color (and a few […]

  2. Being A Producer | Acting Like A Chef - April 17, 2013

    […] boy has it been somewhat of a whirlwind. Last month The Blank Theatre’s Producing Director, Matt Graber, left for a bigger and better job at The Arizona Theatre Company, Director of Marketing. While we […]

  3. Baking Flashback | Acting Like A Chef - December 17, 2013

    […] PUMPKIN SPICE COOKIES Not the cookie cutter version […]

  4. Pumpkin Chutney Bread | Acting Like A Chef - January 28, 2014

    […] a very pumpkin centric baking season. I also made Pumpkin Spice Biscotti (recipe to come) and Pumpkin Spice Cookies (not cut out though, regular balls). For my friend Erin who loves pumpkin she was VERY excited! So […]

  5. Pumpkin Spice Biscotti | Acting Like A Chef - February 4, 2014

    […] year’s holiday baking became a pumpkin year. In addition to the Pumpkin Chutney Bread and Pumpkin Spice Cookies, I also made Pumpkin Spice Biscotti! This was the first time I made biscotti and I got the recipe […]

Leave a Reply

