Tomato and Cheese Omelette

7 Jan

Ah the omelette. A pretty easy, but sometimes frustrating, breakfast dish. It’s also one of my favorite ways to use up vegetables and cheese that are about to go bad. (The other way is soup, but alas, that’s a different post.) I say it’s a frustrating dish because making it look like they do at a restaurant, a perfect half circle without blemishes, can be a tricky thing. And while I’m just making it for myself, I do love seeing a perfect omelette on my plate.

Ingredients for my omelette (L-R): Large Eggs, 1% Milk, Tomato Slice, Shredded Mozarella

Ingredients for my omelette (L-R): Large Eggs, 1% Milk, Tomato Slice, Shredded Mozzarella

I tend to have shredded cheese in the fridge as it’s great on pasta, soup, chili, and in omelettes, so I always have cheese in my omelettes. I use two eggs, although if you wish you can use three. If you use more than 1/4 to 1/3 cup of add-ins then using three eggs is best, otherwise your omelette will fall apart. I’ve found that two ingredients work best for a two egg omelette when it comes to looking perfect. Otherwise it just becomes a “scramble”, lol. It all goes to the same place right? So don’t get too frustrated if your omelette doesn’t turn out right. I’ve had many omelettes turn into scrambles, as I’m sure other (more professional) chefs have also had happen. I also heated up one of my Banana Blueberry muffins and enjoyed a nice cup of Peet’s coffee. mmmm!

Tomato & Cheese Omelette with a Banana Blueberry Muffin

Tomato & Cheese Omelette with a Banana Blueberry Muffin

TOMATO & CHEESE OMELETTE

  • 2 Large Eggs
  • About 2 Tbsp Milk
  • About 2-3 Tbsp chopped tomato (Usually a slice or two of a medium tomato)
  • About 2-3 Tbsp shredded cheese (I usually have mozzarella or parmesan)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
I pour the milk in and estimate the amount, but it's roughly 2 Tbsp

I pour the milk in and estimate the amount, but it’s roughly 2 Tbsp

Chop your tomato and set aside. In a small bowl (I use a soup or cereal bowl) crack your eggs, then pour in your milk and beat. You can use a fork or a small whisk. At this point I spray my omelette pan (it’s your small, 8″ pan) with cooking spray. I’ve used butter, but your eggs will stick more unless you use a couple of tablespoons. So for your waistline’s sake, use spray, but make sure you spray the entire pan. Turn the heat to medium. Add your salt and pepper, chopped tomato and your cheese. Beat once more. Make sure your pan is pretty warm before pouring your eggs in. Hold your hand over the pan, you should feel it warm up. The spray should also become clear. Pour your egg mix into the pan. I always make sure my chunkier add-ins are spread out, in this case the tomatoes. And if I don’t think there’s enough cheese, I’ll sprinkle a little more on at this point as well. mmmmm, cheese…..oh, sorry, got distracted.

Omelette just poured into the pan.

Omelette just poured into the pan.

Once the edges start to solidify, I test it by trying to slide my spatula under the eggs without breaking it. If the rest of the uncooked eggs don’t spill over, then I slide it under and flip the omelette onto itself (see picture below) so it’s a half circle. If your flip fails, don’t stress, just turn it into a scramble. I usually have to hold it on top of itself so it doesn’t slide back for about 20 seconds or so. Once it’s “sealed” itself (as in the eggs on the inside are now mostly cooked) on the round edge (about a minute or two), I flip it over. It might break a little, but that’s okay, if you can keep it in the half circle shape you’ve still got an omelette. Let it cook for another minute or so, then I turn the heat off and let it sit in the pan while I heat up my muffin in the microwave (20 seconds) or sometimes I toast a piece of bread. Slide your omelette (or your scramble) onto your plate and enjoy!

Flipping the first half of the omelette, not too messy-yay!

Flipping the first half of the omelette, not too messy-yay!

After flipping the omelette a second time

After flipping the omelette a second time, not perfect, but it will do!

Other add-ins for my omelettes have included: avocado, onions, sun-dried tomatoes, mushrooms, fresh spinach, feta cheese, brie cheese.
What do you like putting in your omelettes?

2 Responses to “Tomato and Cheese Omelette”

  1. Tim January 7, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

    Man, this blog makes me hungry! Thanks for the tips on the perfect omelette. Scrambles just don’t do it for me. I must have that perfect omelette shape!

Leave a Reply

