Chocolate Truffles

14 Jan

The first time I asked my dad for his truffle recipe he said he would but then he’d have to kill me. Fortunately I gave him my biggest smile and he changed his mind and I’m still alive today. I was going to a holiday “balls” party (all food had to be shaped like (ornament) balls), and the first thing I thought of was his truffles. It’s one of his treats that he only makes for Christmas. Not because they are difficult but because they are a special treat that went in our baskets of goodies that we gave to friends and family. In fact, they are one of the easiest things I’ve ever made. And also one of the messiest. But thanks to Santa this year, I now have a melon baller which will make truffle making MUCH easier next time!

A couple of notes on choices of liqueur and chocolate. My dad uses Grand Marnier, which is an orange liqueur. I use Kahlua because I’m more likely to drink that later. Last year I used a coffee rum from a new company, Eastside Distilling, founded by my cousin. But alas, it’s only available in Oregon and Washington and I finished that bottle some time ago. As for the chocolate, I use Ghiradelli 60% Chocolate Chips. I think the darker chips make for a richer truffle and Ghiradelli is the best in that department. For the cocoa powder to roll in, I used Hershey because that’s what I had in my cabinet, but my dad uses (again) Ghiradelli unsweetened cocoa baking powder. (I collect Hershey products and have a couple of cookbooks from them, so look for more recipes that use Hershey products.)

Ingredients for my Chocolate Truffles L-R: Heavy Whipping Cream, Kahlua, Dark Chocolate Chips, Unsalted Butter

Ingredients for my Chocolate Truffles L-R: Heavy Whipping Cream, Kahlua, Dark Chocolate Chips, Unsalted Butter

CHOCOLATE TRUFFLES

  • 12 oz. Chocolate Chips (I use dark chocolate)
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) Unsalted Butter
  • 1 cup Heavy Cream
  • 2 Tbsp Liqueur like Grand Marnier, Triple Sec, Kahlua, etc
  • 1/8 to 1/4 cup Cocoa Powder for rolling

Place chocolate chips in a medium bowl and set aside. In a small saucepan over low heat combine your butter and cream until the butter melts. Don’t try to speed up the process with higher temperatures as you don’t want your milk to curdle. Once the butter is all melted pour over your chocolate chips. Let this sit for about a minute or two, just long enough that the chocolate starts to melt and is soft and then mix with a whisk. Start slow, pulling up the chocolate from the bottom of the bowl. Whisk until the chocolate is completely melted and the mixture is shiny. Add in the liqueur of your choice and mix again. Cover and place in refrigerator until it sets, usually a couple of hours.

The butter is melting. Seeing a stick of butter makes you feel so good about eating truffles right?

The butter is melting. Seeing a stick of butter makes you feel so good about eating truffles right?

The hot cream/butter mixture has melted the chocolate!

The hot cream/butter mixture has melted the chocolate!

All mixed and ready for the fridge!

All mixed and ready for the fridge!

You can roll your truffles in whatever you want. The “traditional” one is cocoa powder. I also have used peppermint bark (smashed), white chocolate (smashed), and toffee bits. Before you start the rolling make sure you have an apron or a shirt you don’t care about on and short sleeves. Place your coating(s) of choice on a plate (each coating should have its own). For the peppermint bark and white chocolate I used bars and smashed them with a hammer in a plastic bag until they were small bits. Set out mini cupcake papers on a plate or a cookie sheet. Once your chocolate is set take it out and with a melon baller, spoon, or mini ice cream spring release scoop, scoop out small balls of chocolate and roll in your palms to make into round balls. You can make them as big/small as you like. I make them about the size of small walnut. Once they are smooth, roll in your coating of choice then place in the mini cupcake paper. Repeat. If you feel the chocolate is melting too much on your hands, rinse them in cold water before continuing. When you’re done, offer your chocolate covered fingers to your significant other or just lick them clean yourself-LOL! Share your truffles with others and remember to save one for yourself!

Chocolate Truffles, Toffee Bits, Cocoa Powder

Chocolate Truffles, Toffee Bits, Cocoa Powder

Rolling in the white chocolate bits.

Rolling in the white chocolate bits.

It's a messy job, but someone has to do it! That's a truffle rolled in white chocolate bits.

It’s a messy job, but someone has to do it! That’s a truffle rolled in white chocolate bits.

Hmmmm!

Hmmmm!

5 Responses to “Chocolate Truffles”

  1. Kay East January 14, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

    They were scrumptous!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Three Great Tastes Blonde Brownies « Acting Like A Chef - January 18, 2013

    […] when I said I have multiple Hershey cookbooks? Well this recipe is fromΒ Hershey Classic Recipes, and my roommate and I have decided I need to […]

  2. Baking Flashback | Acting Like A Chef - December 17, 2013

    […] CHOCOLATE TRUFFLES Rolled in Cocoa, Toffee Bits, Peppermint Bark […]

  3. Pumpkin Chutney Bread | Acting Like A Chef - January 28, 2014

    […] are a few staples every year: chocolate truffles, 2 different kinds of bread (I also made Spiced Apple), some kind of Hershey Kiss cookies, and for […]

Leave a Reply

