Three Great Tastes Blonde Brownies

18 Jan

Remember when I said I have multiple Hershey cookbooks? Well this recipe is from Hershey Classic Recipes, and my roommate and I have decided I need to make them again as we are still talking about them (and keep in mind I made these over a month ago!). The recipe said it would make 72, which is one reason why I chose it (I wanted to make sure everyone got some!), but sadly it only made about 42. Maybe they cut theirs really small? Oh well, I love brownies and every year I’ve baked for the holidays I always include a brownie recipe, but I think I’ve found my winner with this one. With three different kinds of chips, milk chocolate, white chocolate and peanut butter, my tastes buds were in heaven. And while the drizzling of the chocolate was a little difficult (and messy) at first, I soon got the hang of it. Even the edges were good!

Three Tastes Blondie Brownie Ingredients L-R: Butter, Vanilla, Flour, Light Brown Sugar, Peanut Butter Chips, Eggs, White Chocolate Chips, Salt, Milk Chocolate Chips

Three Tastes Blondie Brownie Ingredients L-R: Butter, Vanilla, Flour, Light Brown Sugar, Peanut Butter Chips, Eggs, White Chocolate Chips, Salt, Milk Chocolate Chips

THREE GREAT TASTES BLONDE BROWNIES (makes about 42)

Brownies:

  • 2 Cups Packed Light Brown Sugar
  • 1 Cup (2 sticks) Butter or Margarine, melted
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 1 Tsp Salt
  • 2/3 Cup of each: Hershey Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips, Reese’s Peanut Butter Chips, Hershey’s White Chips

Chocolate Drizzle:

  • 1/4 Cup Hershey’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1/4 Tsp Shortening (NOT butter or oil)

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. In a small microwave safe bowl melt your butter. In your stand mixer (or large bowl if using a hand mixer) mix together the sugar and melted butter. Add in the eggs and vanilla until the mixture is smooth. Slowly add in your flour (use your shield for your stand mixer if you have it!) and toss in your salt until the mixture is completely blended. Add all your chips and mix.

Adding in the eggs and vanilla to the already mixed butter and brown sugar

Adding in the eggs and vanilla to the already mixed butter and brown sugar

Nice and smooth! Flour and salt will be next.

Nice and smooth! Flour and salt will be next.

Take out a 15 1/2″ x 10 1/2″ x 1″ jelly roll pan and grease. I use the “flour” baking spray. If you like thicker brownies and don’t need as many then you can use a deeper brownie pan. I ended up using two pans as I had more batter than would fit in the pan I had. Spread your batter in your greased pan(s). Once the oven is ready, bake for 25 to 30 minutes. Test doneness with a toothpick. Stick in the middle of the brownies and it should come out clean. If there’s still batter on it bake a 2-3 more minutes.

Brownies in the oven!

Brownies in the oven!

Fresh from the oven!

Fresh from the oven!

When the brownies have about 5 minutes left in the oven, make the chocolate drizzle. In a microwave safe bowl combine the chocolate chips and shortening and microwave on high for about one to two minutes, checking them after about a minute. Remove and stir the chocolate until mixture is completely smooth.

Once the brownies are done and starting to cool, take a fork and drizzle the melted chocolate randomly over the brownies. It might take a few times to get it to drizzle the way you want it to, but don’t stress, you’ll get it. And remember, it’s just melted chocolate and unless you’re trying to make a picture, the chocolate is just for fun. Cut the brownies to a size you want and enjoy!

All ready for consumption! They look yummy!

All ready for consumption! They look yummy!

5 Responses to “Three Great Tastes Blonde Brownies”

  1. pam2626 January 18, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    Oh my, they look lovely!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies « Acting Like A Chef - January 21, 2013

    […] a number of Hershey products, including a couple of cookbooks. I already wrote about the amazing Three Great Tastes Blondie Brownies from the Hershey’s Classic Recipe Cookbook, now I’m going to tell you about the just as […]

  2. Baking Flashback | Acting Like A Chef - December 17, 2013

    […] THREE GREAT TASTES BLONDE BROWNIES Chocolate, White and Peanut Butter Chips in these yummy blonde brownies! […]

  3. Pumpkin Chutney Bread | Acting Like A Chef - January 28, 2014

    […] (I also made Spiced Apple), some kind of Hershey Kiss cookies, and for the last 2 years I made Blonde Brownies. And then I like to try new recipes. This year I decided to try my dad’s Pumpkin Chutney […]

Leave a Reply

