Leftover Turkey Sandwich

23 Jan

I think I make the best leftover turkey sandwich. Ever. But that’s just my humble opinion. My mom doesn’t like my sandwich, but that might be because there’s no lettuce or tomatoes. But it’s a sandwich I only get to make for about a week once a year so I enjoy every bite and every calorie. It’s a portable Thanksgiving/Christmas dinner, how can you not love that? I know it’s way past the holidays, but keep this handy for next year!

Turkey Leftover Sandwich ready for consumption!

Turkey Leftover Sandwich ready for consumption!

LEFTOVER HOLIDAY TURKEY SANDWICH (serves 1)

Take a spoon and spread a little gravy on both slices of bread. Sometimes I heat it up a little bit in the microwave (about 20-30 seconds). Lay your turkey on one slice. Make sure the turkey covers the entire piece of bread, corner to corner. You want to make sure you’re getting turkey in every single bite! Heat up your stuffing (about 20-30 seconds) and lay over the turkey, about 1/2 inch from the edge because when you squish it down and as you eat the stuffing will move around. If you have any of the glazed pearl onions left over put a few on top of the stuffing. Then cover with cranberry sauce, again, not quite to the edge as it will also move around. Place your second piece of bread on top and voila-delicious turkey sandwich! If you’re out of gravy, you can also use Dijon mustard, or do one piece of bread with gravy (your top slice) and the bottom slice by the turkey with the Dijon mustard. I hope you enjoy the sandwich as much as I do!

 Close-Up of the layers of the Turkey Leftover Sandwich

Close-Up of the layers of the Turkey Leftover Sandwich

Turkey Leftover Sandwich

Turkey Leftover Sandwich

2 Responses to “Leftover Turkey Sandwich”

  1. Kay East January 23, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    I’m with you, Sarah. No lettuce and tomato on MY turkey sandwich, however, I wouldn’t have the pearl onions either.

    • actinglikeachef January 24, 2013 at 10:46 am #

      Glad I have you in my corner Kay! I just happened to have a few onions leftover so I threw them on for fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

