Strawberry Jellies, Sort Of

4 Feb

It was my plan to make strawberry jelly squares coated with sugar. They seemed easy enough and it was something new and different. It was also a gluten-free treat that I could give to my friend Mary. Boy was I wrong. And while I didn’t make jelly squares, I did make strawberry jelly and Mary got a very large mason jar full of it. I am including the recipe as stated though. After talking with my dad he said that liquid pectin can be “temperamental”. He gave me a slightly different recipe to try these again. And even though this recipe didn’t turn out quite the way I wanted it to, I still want to share it with you. We won’t know until we try, and we can’t be afraid to fail, in all aspects of our life. So if there’s a recipe that’s scaring you, try it, and if you fail oh well, at least you can say you tried.

Strawberry Jellies Ingredients L-R: Frozen Strawberries, Liquid Pectin, White Sugar

Strawberry Jellies Ingredients L-R: Frozen Strawberries, Liquid Pectin, White Sugar

STRAWBERRY JELLIES (JELLY)

  • 2 lbs. Frozen Strawberries
  • 2 Cups White Sugar
  • 5 Tbsp Liquid Pectin

Puree your strawberries in a blender or food processor. If using a blender it will be a long arduous process. (I thought it’d be easier than setting up my food processor, I was wrong.) Strain through a sieve into a wide saucepan (I used a large pot). I also don’t have a sieve and used a meshed strainer. Stir in your sugar and let boil, stirring occasionally, for about 30 minutes to an hour, or until a candy thermometer reaches 223 degrees. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 3 minutes. Remove your mixture from the heat and stir in the liquid pectin. Pour into a foil lined 8 inch square pan and chill until firm, at least a couple of hours, or overnight is best. Cut into squares and toss in white sugar.

Pureeing the strawberries

Pureeing the strawberries

Cooking the strawberries and sugar

Cooking the strawberries and sugar

Waiting for it to reach the right temperature.

Waiting for it to reach the right temperature.

The jellies didn't quite gel. This is after I poured it in the mason.

The jellies didn’t quite gel. This is after I poured it in the mason.

Since my jellies didn’t quite set, I bought a large mason jar and poured the jelly in and gave to Mary to enjoy with her own gluten-free baking adventures. So until my second attempt at these, remember to have fun in the kitchen!

Strawberry Jelly

Strawberry Jelly

2 Responses to “Strawberry Jellies, Sort Of”

  1. Mary Ann Williams February 4, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    LOVE it!! It *was* tasty, you know. Strawberry jelly is what it is whether or not it’s firm or more liquid. ((HUGS)) πŸ™‚

    • actinglikeachef February 4, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

      so glad to hear!!! My dad gave me the idea to plop it in a mason jar for you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

