Mini Sugar Cookies

6 Feb

So. Many. Sugar Cookies. I thought I was going to die decorating mini sugar cookies. But now I have full size cookie cutters so next year it will be much easier and less time-consuming. I really don’t know how many I made because there were sooo many. But they were still pretty yummy! I used the recipe on the back of my Crisco package, although I would like to try a different recipe as I think they could have been a little sweeter. My biggest pro about this recipe was how chewy they stayed. I highly dislike crunchy cookies so this was a big plus for me. I used the white frosting I had leftover from Matt’s Pumpkin Spice cookies as well as melted chocolate chips to ice the cookies, then used sprinkles to add color (and a few faces!). There were bells, stars, snowflakes, snowmen, reindeer, sleighs, Christmas trees, holly leaves, angels and even a few “Ho, Ho, Ho’s”. It took me two nights to complete all of these so I’m looking forward to using my brand new BIG cookie cutters!

Sugar Cookie Ingredients L-R: Baking Powder, Vanilla, Flour, Crisco, Baking Soda, White Sugar, Light Corn Syrup, Salt

Sugar Cookie Ingredients L-R: Baking Powder, Vanilla, Flour, Crisco, Baking Soda, White Sugar, Light Corn Syrup, Salt

SUGAR COOKIES FROM CRISCO (about 3 to 4 dozen)

  • 1 1/4 Cup White Sugar
  • 1 Cup (1 stick) Butter Flavor Crisco
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/4 Cup Light Corn Syrup
  • 1 Tbsp Vanilla
  • 3 Cups Flour
  • 3/4 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Tsp Salt

Combine all your dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt) in a medium bowl and set aside. In a large mixing bowl or your stand mixer beat at medium speed your sugar and Crisco. Add in your eggs, syrup and vanilla and mix until well blended and a little fluffy. On the lowest setting, slowly add in your dry ingredients until well blended. Make sure you scrape down the sides of the bowl and off the beaters too. Remove from the bowl and divide into four quarters, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Sugar Cookies

Sugar Cookie Dough

When ready to make your cookies, have a flat surface handy, a rolling pin and flour ready. Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees. You can also lay out a large piece of wax paper to roll it on. Cover whatever surface you’re using with some flour (about a tablespoon) and lay your first quarter of dough out. Flatten somewhat with just your hands, then roll out to about 1/4 inch thickness, either by coating your rolling pin in some flour, or place another piece of wax paper on top and roll it out. Alas, I do not have a rolling pin (it’s on my wish list!) so I took pieces of dough about the size of my fist and flattened it out by hand and with the help of a soup can. (I am inventive in the kitchen!)

Sugar Cookies

Ready for the oven!

Ready for the oven!

Take your cookie cutters and dip them in flour then place as close to the edge of your dough as possible. I like to lay a few out all at once before pushing them in, just so I’m sure there’s room. You want to be sure to place them as close to each other as well so that you’re able to cut as many cookies as possible at once. It will save you time re-rolling the dough out. Start with the cutters by the edge and press down and move away from the rest of the dough. Gently lift up on your cutter. If the cookie stays inside gently poke with the pad of your finger only an inch or so from the counter or over your cookie sheet. If the cookie stays on the surface then transfer it carefully with a spatula to your cookie sheet. Keep the cookies about an inch or two (depending on their size) apart. If you’re not going to frost them later, sprinkle with sugar (plain or color) and bake for 5 to 9 minutes. Keep your eye on them so they don’t burn, especially if they are smaller and thinner. Let cool on the pan for two minutes then transfer to a cooling rack. Have fun decorating them however you want!

Snowflakes, Stars and Bells-oh my!

Snowflakes, Stars and Bells-oh my!

Santa Hats, Stockings and Christmas Trees too!

Santa Hats, Stockings and Christmas Trees too!

Don't forget the Snowmen!

Don’t forget the Snowmen!

3 Responses to “Mini Sugar Cookies”

  1. tchistorygal February 8, 2013 at 5:58 am #

    Yum! I just got some new Valentine’s cookie cutters. I tried a different recipe and they blossomed. Where they kissed, they became deformed hearts. So I had to eat a bunch rather than giving them away! Your recipe sounds better though because I love chewier rather than crunchy or cakier cookies. Your blog should be mentioned in the next issue of What’s Happening in the Foothills. Hope you get lots of visitors from folks back home!! Have a great week-end. 🙂 Marsha 🙂

    • actinglikeachef February 8, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      That sounds like a hard life, eating deformed cookies 😉

      • tchistorygal February 8, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

        Burp, it was, but someone had to do it!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

