Bamboo Cutting Boards

11 Feb

Cutting board, an obvious tool for the kitchen, but such a difficult (and sometimes pricey) purchase. Do you get wood or plastic? And which type of wood? Or which type of plastic? Lots of research has been done and many opinions have been published. After culling through quite a few of these I did find one that put forth the pros and cons quite well from The Reluctant Gourmet. Ultimately you need to use cutting boards that you like and are right for your kitchen and your cooking. You don’t need a thick cutting block if you’re a vegetarian and never have meat in your fridge.

My old wooden cutting board is very scarred.

My old wooden cutting board is very scarred.

When I moved into my first apartment I bought myself a couple of boards, a wooden one and a set of plastic ones of various sizes all from IKEA. The wooden one had a groove around the edge which is great for cutting meat and catching the juices. I used the plastic ones for chopping vegetables and such. After more than five years of cooking with them they were beginning to show their age, especially the wooden one. Last summer a crack started in the wooden one and the plastic ones had many knife “scars”. I knew that I would need to invest in new boards sooner rather than later. So when I was given a gift certificate to Sur La Table for Christmas from my aunt and uncle, I knew exactly what I was going to get-new cutting boards!I decided that I wanted wooden boards. They tend to last longer, especially if you take good care of them. You want to rub them down with mineral oil to keep them in good condition. You don’t have to buy the fancy oil from the companies, my dad told me I could find it at my local pharmacy, and I did. With the laxatives, LOL!

Bamboo Cutting Boards

Bamboo Cutting Boards

I first thought about getting a Boos block. They are a high quality cutting board that the pros love. My dad bought himself one and loves it so I looked at them first. The big downside of a Boos block is the weight. They are a thick board and in a small kitchen can seem bulky. They are also a little pricier than most blocks, starting around $50. After looking at the other boards and debating with my dad, I decided on a set of bamboo boards from Totally Bamboo of three sizes. They are thin, lightweight, and excellent quality (and a great price for a frugal chef!). And since they were on sale my gift card covered the cost of the set with a couple of dollars left over! Yay! I love sales! I was excited to have 3 new boards and they would fit nicely in my small kitchen. And for some unknown reason, I prefer cutting on a wooden board rather than a plastic one. To me it feels…cleaner…I think. Either way, when it comes to kitchen appliances, the biggest deciding factor in a purchase should be how comfortable you feel using it, because if you can’t use it, or don’t like the way it feels in your hand, you won’t use it, and it becomes a wasted purchase.

4 Responses to “Bamboo Cutting Boards”

  1. Mary Ann Williams February 13, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    I love my plastic cutting board! I know it dulls my knives much faster, but I find the rocking action with my chef’s knife to be much smoother and faster than when done on wood. Plus, I hate oiling a wood cutting board. The bamboo looks lovely, though! I would give those a try and see if they are better than plastic.

    • actinglikeachef February 14, 2013 at 9:40 am #

      I’m loving my bamboo! Yes, oiling can be annoying (and I tend to forget, lol) but I love the look and feel of them so much more than my plastic ones. Whatever works for you is your best friend in the kitchen 🙂

    • Chopasaurus Cutting Boards February 15, 2014 at 6:04 am #

      Mary Ann, plastic cutting boards do have their place but just be careful to clean them well as they can harbor 99% more bacteria than their wood counter parts. I’m sure you may already know but wood has a natural anti-septic property. Once plastic has been cut on and gets worn in, it is nearly impossible to manually clean it properly.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spiced Pork Chops and Spinach With Tomatoes « Acting Like A Chef - February 20, 2013

    […] Oh how I love pork chops. And yet this was the first time I’ve made them. My dad makes really good pork chops and it’s always difficult for me to make something for the first time that my dad has a special recipe for. But rather than try his recipe, I found one in my new favorite cookbook, Weeknights With Giada, as well as a delicious sounding side dish, wilted spinach with tomatoes and basil. Unfortunately there was absolutely NO basil to be found. Anywhere. I swear. All the produce guys I spoke with said the cold snap from the previous week took a toll on the basil shipments and they didn’t get any in. Boo! Oh well, I’d survive. Not only was I making pork chops for the first time, I was also going to be using my new deep skillet for the first time! (Yes, I was geeking out.) While each recipe was fairly simple, I didn’t do proper prep work and so my pork chops were done way before my spinach and tomatoes were. And because I was focused too much on my spinach, my pork chops were sitting a little too long, and while they were still yummy, I should have taken them off the heat a few minutes sooner. C’est la vie! Next time they will be even juicier! Oh, and the sweet and sour glaze is delicious and I’ve used it on chicken and salmon since then. (And yes, those are my new bamboo cutting boards!) […]

Leave a Reply

