Whipped Cream

15 Feb

Who doesn’t love whipped cream? If you don’t, I don’t know if I can still be friends with you. I’m joking, I’m joking. But seriously, how can you not like whipped cream? Especially when it’s homemade! Remember my Mushroom Cream Sauce from the other day? Well I had some heavy cream left over and I didn’t want it to spoil so what better use than to make my own whipped cream? It’s super easy and super yummy! There is a little vanilla, but next time I will probably add more or some chocolate. Homemade whipped cream only lasts for a few days before it starts to lose the air. I think mine lasted four or five. You can top hot chocolate, coffee or my holiday favorite-eggnog. There’s also pancakes and waffles, crepes and blintzes, fruit and pies. So instead of buying whipped cream, or if you ever have some heavy cream left over from a recipe, grab your mixer and sugar and make your own whipped cream topping! I got this recipe from Allrecipes.com

Whipped Cream Ingredients L-R: Powdered Sugar, Vanilla Extract, Heavy Whipping Cream

Whipped Cream Ingredients L-R: Powdered Sugar, Vanilla Extract, Heavy Whipping Cream

WHIPPED CREAM

  • 1 Cup Heavy Cream
  • 1 Tbsp Confectioners Sugar (Powdered Sugar)
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

In a large bowl, whip cream until stiff peaks are just about to form. I used my stand mixer and my whisk beater attachment. You can also use a hand mixer. Beat in vanilla and sugar until peaks form. Make sure not to over-beat, cream will then become lumpy and butter-like (no bueno). Store in a plastic Tupperware in the fridge (or freezer to keep a little longer). Top on your favorite desserts, or just eat a spoonful! You know you want to!

Whipping the cream (Starting in the Top Left, clockwise). Pretty Peaks!

Whipping the cream (Starting in the Top Left, clockwise). Pretty Peaks!

finished whipped cream

2 Responses to “Whipped Cream”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mississippi Mud Pie for Pi Day | Acting Like A Chef - April 3, 2013

    […] Next make the whipped topping. You can just whip the cream into soft peaks, or you can follow this recipe for whipped cream a little sweeter. Store in the fridge until the pie is […]

  2. Lemon and Blueberry Pie For Pi Day and Debi Baker | Acting Like A Chef - April 1, 2014

    […] Whipped Cream (I made this from scratch) […]

Leave a Reply

