Chicken Stuffed With Spinach

22 Feb

I had chicken, spinach, a little bit of onion and a remnant cheese from Whole Foods in my fridge. (Sometimes they have little buckets of small pieces of cheese. It’s a great way to try a new cheese or to satisfy a craving without spending a lot of money.) I decided to take a chance and try stuffing a chicken breast again. This time with the above mentioned items. (Remember my stuffed chicken with onions and cheese? Stuffing a chicken breast ain’t easy.) This time I decided to try a different technique-I flattened my chicken breast and then folded it over. It worked as well as slicing the breast. Either it needs to be flattened more or I need to work on the slicing method again. My meal was still delicious, the innards just fell out a little, lol. Either way, I will keep trying until I have perfected a stuffed chicken breast. I had mushrooms and an onion in the fridge, so I sautรฉed those up as a side dish. This is my own recipe, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

My remnant cheese from Whole Foods

My remnant cheese from Whole Foods

CHICKEN BREAST STUFFED WITH SPINACH (serves 1)

  • 1 Boneless Chicken Breast
  • Fresh Spinach (about a handful)
  • 1/4 of an onion (any color)
  • 2 oz Soft Cheese (I used doux de montagne)
  • 3 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 1 or 2 button mushrooms
  • Cooking Red Wine (about 1/8 cup)
Chicken breast pounded down

Chicken breast pounded down

Place your chicken breast between two pieces of parchment paper or paper towels and take a meat tenderizer or a hammer and pound lightly so it’s about an inch thick or thinner. Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a small or medium skillet over medium-high heat. Slice half of your onion and add to pan once hot and saute for a couple of minutes. Add in your cheese in pieces and stir around so it starts to melt and stick to the onions. Remove this mixture to a small bowl, then add your fresh spinach to the pan and cook until wilted. Add to the onion and cheese mixture.

Spinach

That big handful reduced down to this.

That big handful reduced down to this.

Spinach, Onions and Cheese stuffing mixture

Spinach, Onions and Cheese stuffing mixture

Spread this mixture onto one half of your chicken breast and then fold over. Sprinkle salt and pepper on one side. Heat another tablespoon of olive oil in the pan over medium heat and place your chicken breast (seasoned side down) into the pan. Let cook for about 7 to 9 minutes, season with salt and pepper and turn over and cook for another 7 to 9 minutes. (This is where the insides of my chicken started to spill out. Oh well.) Once your chicken is done remove to a plate, reduce the heat to low and add in the red wine to deglaze the pan. Scrape the bottom of the pan and stir. This will become the sauce for your chicken. Once it has reduced by about half, pour over your chicken breast.

Chicken Breast with stuffing

Chicken Breast with stuffing

Stuffed Chicken Cooking

While the chicken is cooking I worked on my mushrooms. Thinly slice your mushrooms and chop or slice the rest of the your onion. Once you turn your chicken over, in another small or medium skillet, heat the last of your olive oil over medium heat. Once hot, add in your mushrooms and onions, stirring often. Salt and pepper to taste. The mushrooms should become soft and the onions should become translucent, about 5 minutes. Once done move to plate with chicken. Enjoy!

Sauteing the mushrooms and onions.

Sauteing the mushrooms and onions.

All done!

All done!

Stuffed Chicken and Mushrooms! Yum!

Stuffed Chicken and Mushrooms! Yum!

4 Responses to “Chicken Stuffed With Spinach”

  1. Mary Ann Williams February 22, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

    I have been getting bored lately with my chicken… I think I’m going to try your stuffed version! Nom nom nom…

  2. Sally February 22, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

    Looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

