Guacamole!

27 Feb

Dear Guacamole,
You are the best tortilla chip dip I have ever had. I could eat an entire tub of guacamole and not even blink an eye (although my waist band might I_LOVE_GUACAMOLEfeel it the next day). You contain one of nature’s super foods so it’s hard to feel guilty when eating it. There are so many different ways to make it that everyone can find their own perfect guacamole. You’re easy to make and just as easy to buy (although never as good). I salute you sweet, tasty avocado, and I love you even more when you’re 4 for $1 at the store so it’s super cheap to make my own guacamole.
Love Always,
Sarah Allyn Bauer

Yes, that’s how much I love guacamole, I write a love letter to it. I also love avocados by themselves, but this post is about guacamole and my (now not so secret) love affair with the dip. Because it’s true that I can keep eating guacamole if it’s in front of me, I try to steer clear of it. Because even though avocados are a super food, you still need to eat them in moderation. Also, eating guacamole usually means using tortilla chips, which sadly aren’t a super food.

After the super bowl this year my boss had leftover guacamole and chips that he brought to the office, then said I could take home whatever was left-yay! Janelle (my roommate) was also very excited as she is a lover of guacamole as well. We proceeded to eat most of the guacamole, while also trying to have a real dinner that night. But we still had a lot of chips leftover. So that weekend I bought fresh avocados and made a new batch of guacamole. Hope you enjoy my recipe, let me know how you like to make your own guacamole!

Guacamole Ingredients from L-R: Avocados, Onion, Tomato, Jalapeno Pepper, Salt & Pepper

Guacamole Ingredients from L-R: Avocados, Onion, Tomato, Jalapeno Pepper, Salt & Pepper

GUACAMOLE (serves about 4-5 or 2 if you’re like me, lol)

  • 2 Ripe Avocados
  • 1/4 Cup Onion (any type is fine)
  • 1/4 Cup Tomato
  • 1 Tbsp Jalapeno Pepper
  • Lemon Juice to taste
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Cut your avocados in half and twist open. Remove the seed. A trick I learned to do this: hold the avocado half in your hand and take your large knife and with some force put into seed. It should go in about 1/4 of an inch or so. Pry up carefully, it should come out on the knife blade. Knock the knife handle against the counter or the edge of your garbage can and it should pop off. Scoop out the avocado of each half into a small to medium bowl.

Avocados scooped out.

Avocados scooped out.

Onions all chopped up.

Onions all chopped up.

Chopped tomatoes.

Chopped tomatoes.

Chop your onion and tomato and toss into the bowl. With a small knife cut your jalapeno in your half and finely chop enough of the pepper to your spice level. I used about a tablespoon-with seeds. Take your spoon or fork and start mashing/stirring it all up. I don’t cut up the avocado before hand because it naturally falls apart as you mix all your ingredients together. I then add a little salt and pepper, plus about a teaspoon of lemon juice (either fresh or from the bottle). Grab your tortilla chips and enjoy!

All the ingredients ready for mixing

All the ingredients ready for mixing

Ready to eat! Yum!

Ready to eat! Yum!

6 Responses to “Guacamole!”

  1. Kay February 27, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

    I’ll try ur recipe…Kay

    Acting Like A Chef wrote:

    a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

    /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

    actinglikeachef posted: “Dear Guacamole, You are the best tortilla chip dip I have ever had. I could eat an entire tub of guacamole and not even blink an eye (although my waist band might feel it the next day). You contain one of nature’s super foods so it’s hard to feel guilty “

  2. Mary Ann Williams February 28, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    Mmm!! I LOVE guacamole! I add fresh minced ginger to mine. It adds just a little kick and ginger is so good for you, too. We should make guacamole and get together and eat all of it. I’m just sayin’…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Apple Pie, Beignets and Oscars | Acting Like A Chef - March 27, 2013

    […] in the day, but we still had food, friends and wine, and a roaring good time. There was chips and guacamole, freshly popped popcorn, fries covered in cheese and balsamic vinegar, pizza, salad, apple pie and […]

  2. Party Snacks: Hummus and Meatballs and More! | Acting Like A Chef - February 20, 2014

    […] last month. Nothing fancy, but I did have a few snacks. I made Giada‘s baked meatballs, fresh guacamole, hummus and bought chips, pita bread and vegetables for dipping. All finger food and all easily […]

Leave a Reply

