Fried Chicken

4 Mar

I admit, I’ve never made fried chicken, I’ve always gone to Kentucky Fried Chicken to get my fix (oh guilty pleasures…). I try to stay clear of eating fried chicken so that my waistline (and bust line) don’t hate me too much. It’s always been a treat, and for a while, my family would get it on Christmas Eve after we were done delivering gifts to friends. (My mouth is watering just thinking of their biscuits…) But last February I directed a 10 minute play that needed fried chicken as a prop. I knew I wanted to make my own for at least one of the weekends, and I finally found the time for my actor, Lamar Usher, to have homemade fried chicken for closing weekend. He was a very happy guy, and because I had extra pieces, a couple of the other actors got to have pieces after closing as well. I was told it was very good so I guess that means I need to make it again, and this time eat it myself! Ha! I only made drumsticks, but you can do this with all the pieces of the chicken. I made 6 drumsticks but there was enough of the egg dredge to do another 6 pieces.

Fried Chicken Ingredients L-R: Salt & Pepper, Garlic Powder, Chicken Drumsticks, Crisco Shortening, Flour (plus Egg and Milk not pictured)

Fried Chicken Ingredients L-R: Salt & Pepper, Garlic Powder, Chicken Drumsticks, Crisco Shortening, Flour (plus Egg and Milk not pictured)

FRIED CHICKEN

  • Whole Chicken (or various pieces)
  • About 1 Cup Crisco Shortening
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Cup Milk
  • 1/4 Cup Flour
  • 1 Tsp each of Salt & Pepper
  • 1 Tsp Garlic Powder (optional)
  • 1/2 Tsp (or more/less) Paprika (optional if you like spice)

In a medium bowl beat your egg and milk together. In a gallon size plastic bag, or on a large plate, mix your flour, salt, pepper, garlic powder and paprika together. (Just so you know, I did not use paprika in this batch since I wasn’t sure if Lamar wanted it with a kick.) I like using a gallon bag because I can shake up the chicken and it coats nicely.

Egg and Milk ready for the chicken

Egg and Milk ready for the chicken

Chicken all shook up in the bag

Chicken all shook up in the bag

Depending on how many chicken pieces you have, use a pan that is at least a couple of inches deep. I used my medium skillet and did three pieces at a time. Heat your shortening on high heat. While you’re waiting for it to get hot, cover your chicken pieces in the egg mixture then toss in the flour mixture. If using a bag you can usually fit 3 pieces, then close it up and shake! Test the hot shortening by dropping a few sprinkles of flour in, if it sizzles it’s ready, if it doesn’t it needs more hot. Once hot, place the egg and flour dredged chicken pieces in. Turn over after about five minutes. The skin should be frying up nicely and moving up the sides of the chicken. With the drumsticks, I turned them on the sides that were never directly in the hot oil for another minute or two as well.

Fried ChickenFried ChickenFried Chicken

While you’re waiting for the chicken to be done pull out a cookie sheet and lay down paper towels. When chicken is finished in the oil transfer to the lined cookie sheet. Repeat with the rest of your chicken pieces until all are done. Feel free to add more shortening one tablespoon at a time. Let it melt before adding in chicken. This was a surprisingly easy recipe so don’t be afraid of it (although watch for splattering hot oil). Serve and enjoy! My actor sure did!

Fried Chicken...mmmm.....

Fried Chicken…mmmm…..

2 Responses to “Fried Chicken”

  1. Mary Ann Williams March 4, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    Talk about nom nom nom!! πŸ™‚ We should do a picnic this summer — I’ll make my potato salad and you can bring the fried chicken. A beach day! We’ll pack it in the cooler and claim a spot on the sand.

Leave a Reply

