Grilled Chicken and Spinach

6 Mar

Sometimes all you want is a simple dinner. What’s simpler than a chicken breast lightly seasoned and grilled on the stove top? It’s also healthy because of its simplicity. Be forewarned though, it is relatively easy to under or over cook a chicken breast, especially a thicker piece. (Trust me, I’ve under cooked it more than once.) My dad once said t hat you can tell there’s a good cook in the kitchen if they can cook a chicken breast. I still think cooking a chicken breast this way is super easy and everyone should feel comfortable doing it. I love that you can buy chicken breasts individually wrapped. It makes freezing them for later consumption quite easy. But back to my dinner. I still had fresh spinach and cherry tomatoes from my pork chop meal so I cooked those up as a side dish in the same pan, as well as the sauce that went with them. So I re-heated the sauce and poured some over my chicken. If you don’t have any kind of extra sauce in your fridge I would recommend using white wine and deglaze the pan after your chicken is done and use that on your chicken. Feel free to use whatever spices your heart (and taste buds) desires.

Chicken breast ready for seasonings

Chicken breast ready for seasonings

SIMPLE GRILLED CHICKEN (serves 1)

  • Boneless and Skinless Chicken Breast
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Garlic Powder (optional)
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Heat your oil in a small pan over medium heat. While waiting to heat up season both sides of your chicken breast with salt, pepper and any other spices or herbs you have chosen. Once the oil is hot place your chicken breast in the pan and let cook for about seven to nine minutes.

Chicken Breast seasoned and in the hot oil

Chicken Breast seasoned and in the hot oil

You can see the chicken breast starting to cook. This piece is almost ready to turn over.

You can see the chicken breast starting to cook. This piece is almost ready to turn over.

Depending on how thick your breast is will depend on how long it takes to cook. After about seven minutes, turn over and cook another seven to nine minutes. The breast should be tender to the touch of a fork or knife. You may need to slightly pry open your breast (there’s usually a small opening already on one side that you can almost see inside) and see if it’s still pink or not. The more chicken you cook the easier it will become to tell when it’s done. Remember, it’s better to under cook the chicken and have to put it back in the pan, than over cook it and have dry, tough chicken.

Chicken Breast

Spinach and Cherry Tomatoes cooking in the same pan as the chicken

Spinach and Cherry Tomatoes cooking in the same pan as the chicken

While the first side of the chicken was cooking I prepped my tomatoes by cutting in half and got my spinach ready. After I turned the chicken over and it had been cooking for a few minutes, I moved it over a little and I added my spinach and tomatoes to the other side of the pan and cooked them down for a few minutes. I re-heated the pork chop sauce and after removing the chicken to my plate I poured about a tablespoon or so over my chicken. Enjoy!

Chicken with Spinach and Cherry Tomatoes. Enjoy!

Chicken with Spinach and Cherry Tomatoes. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Grilled Chicken and Spinach”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicken Salad | Acting Like A Chef - March 15, 2013

    […] much faster. While the pictures below show using canned chicken, I started using fresh chicken and grilling it on my stove top. It adds a little extra time, but I can taste the difference and it’s so much better (and […]

  2. Grilled Chicken with Roasted Pepper and Tomatoes and Sweet Corn | Acting Like A Chef - August 15, 2013

    […] always meant barbecue. And corn. While I can’t exactly barbecue in my apartment, I can now grill on my stove. And the corn was just calling my name at the store so I couldn’t say no. But what sauce to […]

Leave a Reply

