Chocolate Chip Cookies by Nestle

13 Mar

The chocolate chip cookie. Probably the most commonly baked cookie in the United States. When you think cookie,  “chocolate chip” probably pops into your head first (or maybe second). Nestle Toll House has created a huge brand based around chocolate chip cookies. You can buy dough already made that just needs to be placed on cookie sheets. No mess and super easy. But I don’t like that, I like the process of making cookies. We’ve all done it and probably all have fond memories as children of making cookies with a parent or grandparent, right? I have fond memories of my sister and I making a quarter of a batch of cookie dough after school and eating it as a snack. Yup, we really did that. More than once. And nope, I don’t regret it, lol. For my 8th Grade science fair project I posed the question, “Which chocolate chip makes the best chocolate chip cookie?” (I guess you could say the love of baking has been in my blood for quite some time now.) I tested four different chips: Ghiradelli, Nestle Toll House, Hershey’s and the store brand (Vons). The winner? Nestle Toll House. Ghiradelli was second, then store brand and, sadly, Hershey’s was last. So when Towne Street’s 10 Minute Play Festival had its closing party I decided to make chocolate chip cookies, using Nestle’s recipe on the bag. Keep in mind, there are about as many chocolate chip recipes in the world as there are Starbucks in Los Angeles (if not more), so this won’t be the last chocolate chip cookie recipe I post. The cookies were a hit and I even managed to keep a few for myself and my office mates.

Chocolate Chip Cookies Ingredients L-R: Baking Soda, Brown Sugar, Butter (I used Crisco), White Sugar, Chocolate Chips, Eggs, Flour, Vanilla Extract, Salt

Chocolate Chip Cookies Ingredients L-R: Baking Soda, Brown Sugar, Butter (I used Crisco), White Sugar, Chocolate Chips, Eggs, Flour, Vanilla Extract, Salt

CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES BY NESTLE (makes between 4 and 5 dozen)

  • 2 1/4 Cup Flour
  • 1 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 Tsp Salt
  • 1 Cup Butter, Softened
  • 3/4 Cup White Sugar
  • 3/4 Cup Brown Sugar, Packed
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Cups (12 oz bag) Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1 Cup Chopped Nuts (optional)
Sugars and butter about to be mixed

Sugars and butter about to be mixed

Adding in the eggs and vanilla

Adding in the eggs and vanilla

Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees. In a medium bowl combine your dry ingredients: flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside. In a large mixing bowl (or your stand mixer), combine your sugars and butter. Blend until smooth. Add in your eggs and vanilla and beat again until thoroughly mixed. On the lowest setting start adding your dry ingredient mixture slowly. Once all the dry ingredients are thoroughly mixed add in your chocolate chips (and nuts if you wish. I don’t add nuts as I don’t like them in my cookies.) and mix until they are well blended into your dough.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Everyone has their own style of putting cookies on the sheet to be baked. If you want pretty round ones, then make small balls about an inch in diameter (unless you want bigger cookies). If you don’t care about the shape just plop the dough onto the sheet either with your hands or a spoon. I kept my cookies about an inch in diameter so there would be lots for the party.

I used a spoon to approximate the size of the cookies.

I used a spoon to approximate the size of the cookies.

Ready for the oven!

Ready for the oven!

The bag says to bake for 9 to 11 minutes, however, I have found that every oven is slightly different, so my first batch of cookies I baked for 8 minutes. Perfect! The rest of the batches were subsequently baked for 8 minutes as well. I let them cool for another two or three minutes on the pan before removing to a cooling rack. I tasted one and it was delicious! They were quickly gobbled up (and stuffed in pockets to take home) at the party. Success!

Fresh from the oven!

Fresh from the oven!

Chocolate Chip Cookies ready for consumption

Chocolate Chip Cookies ready for consumption

2 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookies by Nestle”

  1. Mary Ann Williams March 13, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    I love chocolate chip cookies… your cookies are nice and plump! I always have trouble with classic chocolate chip cookies, so maybe I will have to follow your instructions. 🙂

  2. dawnspitfire April 27, 2015 at 1:18 pm #

    Reblogged this on dawnspitfire's blog and commented:
    The very best…….STILL ♥
    #ChocolateChipCookies #NestleTollHouseCookies #Recipe share & save 😀
    Nom!

Leave a Reply

