Chicken Salad

15 Mar

In the summer of 2006 I worked at a sandwich shop in my hometown, Anne Lang’s Emporium. It was there that I learned how to make the perfect sandwich as well as various deli salads. One of my favorites: chicken salad. For lunch I would lightly toast my bread, add chicken salad, sprouts and tomato slices and enjoy a delicious lunch. So when I decided to give up carbs in my lunches recently, I decided to make tuna and chicken salads and enjoy with salad greens and a light dressing. Both are packed with protein and a few veggies. Plus I can make two or three ahead of time which makes my mornings go by much faster. While the pictures below show using canned chicken, I started using fresh chicken and grilling it on my stove top. It adds a little extra time, but I can taste the difference and it’s so much better (and healthier)!

Chicken Salad Ingredients L-R: Sage, Water Chestnuts, Onion, Lemon Juice, Mayonnaise, Celery, Grilled Chicken, Salt & Pepper

Chicken Salad Ingredients L-R: Rosemary, Water Chestnuts, Onion, Lemon Juice, Mayonnaise, Celery, Grilled Chicken, Salt & Pepper

CHICKEN SALAD (2-3 servings)

  • 10 oz. Can of Cooked Chicken (or 1 boneless/skinless chicken breast cooked)
  • 1/4 Cup of Water Chestnuts
  • 1 Stalk Celery
  • 1/4 Cup Chopped Onion (preferably purple or yellow)
  • 3 or 4 Tbsp of Mayonnaise
  • 1-2 Tsp Lemon Juice
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Garlic Powder to taste (optional)
DSCN6767

To chop the celery, slice down the middle of the stalk to make thinner pieces, then chop into small pieces.

Onion

Water Chestnuts

Chop your chicken into tiny pieces and place in a small to medium mixing bowl. I like them to be about the size of my pinky fingernail or smaller. Finely chop your onion, celery and water chestnuts and add to your chicken. Add in your mayonnaise and stir until the mayo coats everything. Instead of measuring out the mayo though, I usually use one scoop with a soup spoon. Always start with less mayo than you think you need and add small amounts as needed. Salt and pepper the mix to taste (about 1/4 tsp of each). Add in the lemon juice, and since I had fresh rosemary in my fridge, I added about 1/2 a teaspoon. I also like to add a little garlic powder as a lover of garlic. And voila-all done!

Chicken Salad

Chicken Salad

I put in the smallest Tupperware containers which are 1/2 cup sizes. Depending on the size of the chicken breast I can make 2 or 3 servings. Place them in the fridge and pull out as needed. Enjoy with salad greens, on a sandwich, or just by itself.

All ready to go for lunch!

All ready to go for lunch!

Leave a Reply

