Baked Salmon with Edamame and Snap Peas

19 Mar

Salmon is one of the most common fish on the market. There is a lot of controversy over farm-raised vs. wild, but I’m not here to talk about that. I love salmon and it’s a fish that is easy to bake in your oven or grill on your barbecue. Salmon is another “super food” because of it’s omega 3s. Growing up, especially when my parents were on Weight Watchers, we would have salmon at least once a week. Costco usually has nice big pieces at a great price so if you’re a member I highly recommend their salmon. I usually buy a piece at my local grocery store though, they’re smaller and usually just as good. This recipe is super simple and anyone can do it. You can pair it with a lot of different side dishes too. I usually pair it with brown rice or green beans, but this time I decided to try a new side dish that I found in my cookbook, “Weeknights With Giada”, Edamame and Snap Peas.

Baked Salmon Ingredients L-R: Rosemary, Onion, Lemon, Salt & Pepper, Salmon

Baked Salmon Ingredients L-R: Rosemary, Onion, Lemon, Salt & Pepper, Salmon

BAKED SALMON (2 to 3 servings)

  • Salmon, 6 to 9 oz piece (one serving is about 3 oz, the size of a checkbook)
  • 1 to 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • Half a Lemon
  • A slice or two of an Onion
  • Rosemary (dried or fresh)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Aluminum Foil

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Pull a cookie sheet or other oven safe pan out and tear a piece of aluminum foil large about 3 times the length of your fish and place on your baking sheet. Place your fish in the middle of the foil and slightly bend the sides up so the oil won’t travel far. Slice the thin lemon slices, enough for each serving. Cut a thin slice of your onion, you only need a few of the rings. Pour the olive oil on the fish and rub it all over. Sprinkle salt, pepper and rosemary on the fish. If using fresh rosemary, tear off the leaves and sprinkle on the fish. I like to place a lemon slice for each serving of the fish and I lay the onion rings so they are overlapping for one end to the other. Fold all four sides of the foil above the fish and fold together at the top so there’s an air pocket between the seam and the fish. Place in the oven and bake for about 20 minutes. If you want to check if it’s done, a fork should easily separate the fish.

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

All wrapped up.

All wrapped up.

Fresh from the oven

Fresh from the oven

While the fish is cooking work on your side dish. If you decide to cook rice, I would start it before putting the fish in the oven. But with veggies, you can start after. Giada’s recipe was actually double what I have below, but since I didn’t want too much leftover, I made half.

Snap Peas and Edamame

Snap Peas and Edamame Ingredients L-R: Frozen Shelled Edamame, Salt & Pepper, Snap Peas, Garlic, Shallot, Olive Oil

SNAP PEAS AND EDAMAME (2-3 servings)

  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 Medium or Small Shallot
  • 1 Garlic Clove
  • 1 Cup (5 oz) Shelled Edamame
  • 1 1/4 Cup (4 oz) Sugar Snap Peas, Halved
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Do your prep work first: Thinly slice your shallot, mince your garlic, measure out and cut your snap peas in half and measure out the edamame. *Note: It took me a little while to find shelled edamame, but I did find them in the frozen food aisle after careful searching.

Shallots

Thinly sliced shallots

Snap Peas

Snap Peas

Snap Peas halved

Snap Peas halved

Shelled Edamame

Shelled Edamame

Minced Garlic

Minced Garlic

In a medium skillet heat your oil over medium-high heat. Add in your shallots and cook until soft, but not quite translucent. Add in the garlic and cook for about 30-60 seconds, until you can smell it. Add in your edamame, snap peas, salt and pepper for about 3-4 minutes. Serve and enjoy!

Shallots

Edamame & Snap Peas almost done

Edamame & Snap Peas almost done

I found that the salmon and the edamame and snap peas paired really well together, and I enjoyed it for another two nights. I love that it’s an easy side dish to make and cooks up pretty quickly.

Baked Salmon & Snap Peas and Edamame

Baked Salmon & Snap Peas and Edamame

I had a bottle of Crispin Cider, Single Strength Reserve Bare Naked in my fridge which I opened up and enjoyed. I discovered Crispin Cider after The Blank’s beer festival, Hollywood On Tap, last October. They are my new favorite hard cider and they have so many options! I found this bottle at my local Whole Foods (although I can’t find it on Crispin’s website). This cider is part of a line that is unfiltered, which means you have to swirl it around before drinking to disperse the residual apple-wine sediment evenly. It’s not as sweet as most hard ciders, so if you’re more of a beer fan or just don’t like sweet wines/drinks, try one of these unfiltered lines from Crispin. You won’t be disappointed. If you’re looking to pair it with something else, aim for a white wine rather than a red.

Baked Salmon & Snap Peas and Edamame

Baked Salmon & Snap Peas and Edamame

2 Responses to “Baked Salmon with Edamame and Snap Peas”

  1. Mary Ann Williams March 19, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

    Crispin, salmon… yes yes πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Balsamic Glazed Salmon and Green Beans | Acting Like A Chef - December 3, 2013

    […] is one of those super foods you always hear about. I’ve also blogged about one version of baked salmon before, using aluminum foil to bake the fish, but you don’t have to use foil to bake salmon, […]

Leave a Reply

