Apple Pie, Beignets and Oscars

27 Mar

It’s been a month since The Oscars and I am still thinking about two things: how great Seth MacFarlane was as host (contrary to media belief) and the apple pie and beignets I made for my Oscar party. I personally think Seth did an amazing job and I really loved the boobs song because it’s so true. (And please remember that those “shots” of Charlize Theron and others cringing were staged and shot BEFORE the Oscar telecast so they were in on the joke!) I also find it highly ironic that the Gay Men’s Chorus of Los Angeles had a cameo in that song of all songs, lol. Hey if we can’t laugh at ourselves, what’s the point? (Thank you Jennifer Lawrence for showing us that.)

Jennifer Lawrence can laugh after tripping, then we can all laugh at our own falls too!

Jennifer Lawrence can laugh after tripping, then we can all laugh at our own falls too!

Last year I hosted a big Oscar/Birthday bash as my birthday was the night of the Oscars. My dad came down and cooked party food galore! There was even a chocolate cheesecake! This year I had a slightly smaller affair since I had a rehearsal earlier in the day, but we still had food, friends and wine, and a roaring good time. There was chips and guacamole, freshly popped popcorn, fries covered in cheese and balsamic vinegar, pizza, salad, apple pie and beignets. Are you drooling yet? Because I am just thinking about it again.

Chips and Guacamole and Salsa!

Chips and Guacamole and Salsa!

Fries Smothered in White Cheddar and Balsamic Vinegar

Fries Smothered in White Cheddar and Balsamic Vinegar

Dessert! Beignets and Apple Pie

Dessert! Beignets and Apple Pie

Last fall my dad canned his own apple pie mixtures and he brought them down to me on a visit just before Christmas. I was saving them for just the right occasion, and the Oscars seemed as good of a time as any. I was also given a box of beignet mix from Cafe du Monde by the fabulous Mary when she discovered she had to go gluten-free. Since I haven’t made the apple pie mixture myself yet I will save that recipe for another post. Everyone loved the pie though, so I will be making another one in the near future from scratch.

Beignet Ingredients L-R: Beignet Mix, Corn Oil (not pictured: water, powdered sugar, flour)

Beignet Ingredients L-R: Beignet Mix, Corn Oil (not pictured: water, powdered sugar, flour)

BEIGNETS BY CAFE DU MONDE (about 2 dozen)

  • 2 Cups Beignet Mix
  • 7 Oz. Water
  • About 1/2 Cup Flour
  • About 2 Cups Fry Oil (I used Corn Oil)
  • Powdered Sugar for dusting
Cafe du Monde Beignet Mix

Cafe du Monde Beignet Mix

Before mixing your beignet mix, get your area prepped. Pour your oil into a medium pot, it should be about 2 inches deep. Wait to turn on the heat until you’ve mixed. Pull out a big cutting board and dust with the flour, leaving some in a small bowl or the cup holder nearby. Lay out a cookie sheet by the stove (or on the stove) and place paper towels down then a cooling rack on top. In a large bowl, mix your beignet mix and water together. The box suggests using a spoon, which I did for a little while, then I switched to my hands as it was easier to mix it, especially since it’s super doughy and sticky, which is why you should prep everything else beforehand. Once all mixed in the bowl, transfer to your flour covered board and roll out to about 1/8″ thickness. (I still don’t have a rolling pin so I used a wine bottle. It worked quite nicely!). Use the extra flour liberally on the dough mixture so it doesn’t stick to the board or the rolling pin. Once rolled out, turn the heat on your oil, then cut the dough into about 2″ squares.

Cut into squares and ready for the frying pan

Cut into squares and ready for the frying pan

When the oil is hot (it should start to bubble. To test drop a small piece of flour or dough into it, it should start to fry right away.) drop the squares into the oil, they should float. Depending on the size of your pot will determine how many you can make at a time. I did 3 at a time. I have special spatula for frying, it’s flat with lots of small round holes, which I used to turn the beignets over after a few minutes.

Frying up a beignet in hot oil

Frying up a beignet in hot oil

Cooling on the rack

Cooling on the rack

They should be golden brown on both sides. Pull them out, letting the oil drain over the pot, then place on the cooling rack you prepped. Repeat until all your dough has been fried. While the beignets are cooling, but still hot, dust with powdered sugar. Enjoy!

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

3 Responses to “Apple Pie, Beignets and Oscars”

  1. Mary Ann Williams April 4, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

    OMG! You made the beignets!! YES!!!! 🙂 Love it!

    • actinglikeachef April 5, 2013 at 10:46 am #

      yes I did and they were oh so yummy! 🙂 I was thinking of you the whole time and I had an extra one just for you! lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oscar Party 2014: Buffalo Wings | Acting Like A Chef - June 3, 2014

    […] for my friends. It was a great day and one of my favorite birthdays to date. Last year I threw a mini-party as I ended up having rehearsal in the morning so only a few people made it over to the apartment […]

Leave a Reply

