Being A Producer

2 Apr

Oh wow. I finally got my real dose of what it means to be a producer, and boy has it been somewhat of a whirlwind. Last month The Blank Theatre’s Producing Director, Matt Graber, left for a bigger and better job at The Arizona Theatre Company, Director of Marketing. While we were all very excited for him, it meant we were losing our Producing Director right as we were beginning rehearsals of our final mainstage, “Peter Pan: The Boy Who Hated Mothers”, and as we were beginning the selection process of our Young Playwrights Festival. The powers that be decided that rather than go through the hiring process  and bring someone new on, they asked if I would be willing to take on more responsibility and become a Producer. I would have producing partners for each production which I was super excited about (and made me believe that my sanity would stay intact, lol).

Peter Pan marquee

Producing theatre, more specifically producing non-profit theatre, is a very hands on job. Producers are usually pretty involved in all aspects of the show. Set designer needs help building the set? I grab a power drill. A prop needs to be picked up in a large car? I take my SUV to said location. Sink at the theatre is clogged? I reach my hand into the murky water and pull out unknown gunk. (Don’t worry, no pictures of that! LOL!) Oh yes, the life of a producer is glamorous.

Laying the foundation for the deck.

Laying the foundation for the deck.

Some of the set dressing. It was distressing to distress babies.

Some of the set dressing. It was distressing to distress babies.

It’s my job to make sure all components of the show come together and that designers and actors are all happy and have what they need to get the show opened. Sometimes I have to be the bad cop, but mostly I get to be the good cop and work with everyone to put on a great show. It’s been an exciting and stressful month (wow, can’t believe it’s been a month!), but when the first audience sees this play on April 20th I know it will all have been worth it.

Click for a sneak peak into rehearsals!

Click for a sneak peek into rehearsals!

If you’re in the Los Angeles area, or just need an excuse to come to Los Angeles, I highly recommend coming to see “Peter Pan: The Boy Who Hated Mothers” by Michael Lluberes and directed by the Ovation Winning Michael Matthews. (Tickets can be found here.) It’s a brilliant show and so beautiful to watch. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you might even cringe when you see Hook, but you will leave the theatre moved and wanting more. Great small theatre does exist, and it’s on the corner of Santa Monica Blvd and Wilcox Ave in Hollywood, CA.

12 Responses to “Being A Producer”

  1. Matt Graber April 17, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    I’m super proud of you Sarah! Can’t wait to see you all Sat and to hear all about things.

    Sent from my iPhone. Expect Typos!

    • actinglikeachef April 17, 2013 at 10:08 am #

      Thanks Matt!!! 🙂 Looking forward to seeing you this weekend as well!

  2. nancy davis April 17, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

    Good article! Welcome to my world – HAHAHAAHAA
    Mamaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

  3. Sally pace April 17, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    Congratulations. Hope all goes well

    • actinglikeachef April 17, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

      thanks sally!!! so far so good-just crazy! lol

      • Sally Pace April 17, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

        I know you can handle Crazy!!

        Enjoy!

  4. Mary Ann Williams April 18, 2013 at 12:43 am #

    It’s looking all kinds of amazeballs awesome!! Can’t wait to see the whole thing. Congrats!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chewy Ginger Biscuits | Acting Like A Chef - May 28, 2013

    […] you remember, I am one of the producers of PETER PAN: THE BOY WHO HATED MOTHERS at The Blank Theatre this spring, and I wanted to bake […]

  2. Producing The Young Playwrights Festival | Acting Like A Chef - June 18, 2013

    […] you recall I have been producing “Peter Pan: The Boy Who Hated Mothers” at The Blank Theatre this spring. Well I’m also producing another show there, the 21st Annual […]

Leave a Reply

