Pear And Apple Arugula Salad

29 Apr

It’s finally spring in Los Angeles! It had been staying in the 60s for quite some time, but it finally got up to the 80s (and 90s in the valley) and it looks like it will be staying there. Our nights are still cool, which I like, but spring is definitely here to stay. So on a clear and warm Saturday afternoon I saw my pears sitting in my kitchen and decided I wanted to make a salad with them. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I live one long block away from my local Whole Foods Market. So I pulled on my shoes, grabbed a reusable bag, my headphones and purse and walked down to the market. I picked up fresh arugula, blue cheese, and Greek yogurt (which would be for dessert with brandied figs that my dad canned himself). I walked back home, very excited for my lunch. I had no specific recipe in mind, just that I wanted a fresh salad. I made half the recipe (ie. for two people) below since I didn’t want soggy salad later on. My roommate and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! And dessert was even better!

Pear and Apple Arugula Salad Ingredients L-R: Olive Oil, Arugula, Red Apple, Red Onion, Pear, Blue Cheese, Salt and Pepper, Salad Greens, Balsamic Vinegar

Pear and Apple Arugula Salad Ingredients L-R: Olive Oil, Arugula, Red Apple, Red Onion, Pear, Blue Cheese, Salt and Pepper, Salad Greens, Balsamic Vinegar

PEAR AND APPLE ARUGULA SALAD (serves 4)

  • 1 Pear
  • 1 Apple (preferably a sweet red)
  • 1 Bunch Fresh Arugula
  • 3 or 4 oz Blue Cheese (any variety)
  • 1-2 Cups Salad Greens (add any variety and the amount to your needs)
  • 1/2 of a Red Onion (optional)

Wash your arugula to get any dirt off and pat dry in a few paper towels. Chop off the leaves and throw into a large salad bowl along with any additional salad greens of your choice. Slice your pear into thin slices. I chopped my pear in half then thinly sliced the pear. Chop your apple into slices or into small chunks. I used a Pacific Rose apple. Pink Lady’s or Galas would also be good. Toss into the salad bowl. Chop your red onion and add to salad.

Sliced Pear

Sliced Pear

Pear and Apple Arugula Salad with red onions.

Pear and Apple Arugula Salad with red onions.

Crumble your blue cheese onto the salad. I used Maytag Iowa Blue Cheese. One thing I love about Whole Foods is they give recommendations for each of their cheeses. This one said it paired well with pears and apples and it smelled delicious! (I know not everyone loves the smell of blue cheese, but it’s one of my favorites!).

Maytag Iowa Blue Cheese

Maytag Iowa Blue Cheese

Maytag Iowa Blue Cheese ready for crumbling.

Maytag Iowa Blue Cheese ready for crumbling.

Toss with a simple vinaigrette dressing. I used equal parts olive oil and balsamic vinaigrette with salt and pepper. Enjoy!

Homemade balsamic vinaigrette dressing

Homemade balsamic vinaigrette dressing

Pear and Apple Arugula Salad ready for tossing!

Pear and Apple Arugula Salad ready for tossing!

Pear and Apple Arugula Salad was delicious!

Pear and Apple Arugula Salad was delicious!

For dessert I served plain Greek Yogurt with brandied figs that my dad canned himself. It was thoroughly delicious and a great way to finish off lunch.

Brandied Figs and Plain Greek Yogurt

Brandied Figs and Plain Greek Yogurt

Brandied Figs and Plain Greek Yogurt for Dessert! Yummmm!!!!

Brandied Figs and Plain Greek Yogurt for Dessert! Yummmm!!!!

2 Responses to “Pear And Apple Arugula Salad”

  1. Mary Ann Williams May 2, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    You gave me some new ideas! I make a balsamic dressing, too, and I also chop up an apple (I find the Gala apples fit my taste buds just right). But I had not added the fresh onions and pear. Bleu cheese… NOM 🙂

Leave a Reply

