Bangers and Mash

14 May

I love “Harry Potter“. I remember when my mom bought me the first book, I was in 8th grade. We were at B. Dalton Bookstore in the Visalia Mall (the chain has now been acquired by Barnes & Noble and is no longer in Visalia), and there was a small display with “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone” in paperback. I picked one up and my mom asked if I wanted it. I said “sure.” And my life would never be the same. I devoured the first book and immediately asked for the second book and then the third. Then I had to wait for the fourth book, but I did. Then the fifth book, the sixth book, and finally the seventh book. Along the way the movies came out, and at first I didn’t want to see them, but finally I went to see “Harry Potter And the Prisoner of Azkaban” with my parents and it was so amazing that my dad immediately bought me the fifth book and the first two movies as we walked through Borders after the movie was over. And when we got home, he read the first four books on my shelf. My mom continued to watch the movies with us and then she listened to the audio books and absolutely loved the series even more! So when I saw there was an “Unofficial Harry Potter Cookbook” I just HAD to have it! And when I unwrapped my Christmas gifts last year I was a happy chef indeed!

harry_potter_7_posters

So when I discovered I had frozen sausages in my freezer a couple of weeks ago I knew I wanted to make Bangers and Mash, ie. sausages and mashed potatoes. I’ve also been craving this dish after my “Trainspotting” folks and I went to a British pub one night and someone ordered it and I stole a couple of bites-yummm! So I put them in the fridge to defrost and last weekend I went to the store and picked up potatoes and heavy cream to complete my bangers and mash. My mouth was watering just thinking about it! The recipe actually gives directions to make your own sausages, but you can also use pre-made sausages, which is what I did. I also made a smaller amount of mashed potatoes, but am including the full recipe below. I plan on visiting this recipe again and trying the homemade sausages though. There are so many recipes in this cookbook that I want to try and I can’t wait to share them all with you! For now, enjoy a classic British dish-Bangers and Mash.

BANGERS AND MASH (about 6 servings)

BANGERS

  • 6 Individual Serving Sausages, your choice of meat (you can also use smaller ones and serve 2 or 3 to each person)
Mashed Potato Ingredients L-R: Salt and Pepper, Gold Potatoes, Butter, Whipping Cream

Mashed Potato Ingredients L-R: Salt and Pepper, Gold Potatoes, Butter, Whipping Cream

MASHED POTATOES

  • 6 Potatoes, Peeled and Quartered (I leave the peels on and use white or gold potatoes)
  • 2 Tsp Salt
  • 4 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 Cup Whole Milk or Half-and-Half (I used heavy whipping cream)
  • Black Pepper to taste
Onion Gravy Ingredients L-R: Chicken Broth, Yellow Onion, Flour, Salt, Olive Oil

Onion Gravy Ingredients L-R: Chicken Broth, Yellow Onion, Flour, Salt, Olive Oil

ONION GRAVY

  • 3 Tbsp Vegetable Oil
  • 1 Medium Onion
  • 3 Tbsp All Purpose Flour
  • 2 Cups Chicken Broth
  • Salt to taste

You’ll be working on the potatoes and the gravy at the same time, so be very aware of your timing, especially with the gravy. Peel your potatoes (or not if you like the peels on, like me) and quarter the potatoes. My dad always uses gold or white potatoes during Thanksgiving so that’s what I used for this. If you prefer russet they work too. Fill a large pot with about 3/4 water and add your potatoes, turning the heat up to high. Bring the water to a boil, then reduce to a simmer for about 25 minutes or until the potatoes are fork tender. Have a large strainer/colander ready by the sink to drain when they are ready.

Gold potatoes quarter and ready for the pot of water.

Gold potatoes quarter and ready for the pot of water.

Mashed Potatoes

Potatoes all cooked and drained and ready to be mashed.

Potatoes all cooked and drained and ready to be mashed.

While your potatoes are boiling start working on the gravy. Finely chop your onion and in a medium pot or saucepan heat your oil, then turn heat to low and add your onions. Stir occasionally until your onions are golden, should take about 25-30 minutes so it should be done at about the same time your potatoes are. Before continuing with the gravy, check your potatoes and drain if ready, otherwise you won’t be able to get to them for at least 5-10 minutes. If drained set aside to finish later.

Slice lengthwise, stopping just before the root of the onion. Keep slices about a quarter of inch or less apart. Then chop from top to bottom and you'll have a fully chopped onion.

Slice lengthwise, stopping just before the root of the onion. Keep slices about a quarter of inch or less apart. Then chop from top to bottom and you’ll have a fully chopped onion.

Chopped Yellow Onion

Cooking down the onions in the oil.

Cooking down the onions in the oil.

Onions reduced down and ready to be made into gravy.

Onions reduced down and ready to be made into gravy.

Once the onions are done cooking, make sure you have your chicken broth all measured out and easily reachable, then add the flour to make a roux. Stir constantly so it doesn’t burn. Keep stirring until it forms a smooth paste. Then add your chicken broth and turn the heat up to medium, continuing to stir constantly until it’s thick and starting to bubble. Taste and add salt and pepper if needed. Remove from heat when finished.

Making a roux.

Making a roux.

After adding the chicken stock it's still really thin. Keep stirring!

After adding the chicken stock it’s still really thin. Keep stirring!

Onion gravy is almost thick enough.

Onion gravy is almost thick enough.

Mashed potatoes all ready!

Mashed potatoes all ready!

My pre-made banger (aka, sausage) cooking in oil in a skillet.

My pre-made banger (aka, sausage) cooking in oil in a skillet.

To finish your potatoes, once drained, return to the pot and add the salt, butter, cream and pepper. Mash with a potato masher (or use a hand mixer like I had to do since I didn’t have a masher), until they are light and fluffy. Serve with 1 large sausage or 2 or 3 smaller sausages and gravy on top. Enjoy!

Bangers and Mash are served!

Bangers and Mash are served!

One Response to “Bangers and Mash”

  1. Mary Ann Williams May 17, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

    This post reminds me of my Britain days! Ahh… happy memories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

