Empire Biscuits-Traditional Scottish Cookies

10 Jun

On Saturday, June 1st, “Trainspotting” came to an end. After a 13 week run (yes-13 weeks!) it was time to take our final bows. My cast took our final bow on Friday, May 31st and the other cast took their bows Saturday night. After the final show on Saturday we had to strike the set (tear it down and put the space back to a black box) so it would be ready for the Hollywood Fringe Festival to move in.

Sam and Katie enjoying cookies before strike!

Sam and Katie enjoying cookies before strike!

Karl loved the cookies too!

Karl loved the cookies too!

I somehow had Saturday afternoon and evening free so I decided to make cookies for our strike party. Remember the chocolate cookies I made for opening night? This time around I wanted to do a traditional Scottish cookie in honor of the show and the journey we’ve all taken. So I jumped online and googled “traditional Scottish cookie” and I found Empire Biscuits at allrecipes.com I had everything but the maraschino cherries which I was able to get at the grocery store by my apartment easily enough. It said it made 4 dozen cookies. That was just the right amount.

Wellllll, not quite. I ended up with 80 cookies. And as you can see from the photos they are sandwich cookies so I actually made 160 cookies. Yes, I baked 160 cookies. Oh. My. God. Mine were about 2 inches in diameter, but I was told by one of my Scottish mates that they’re traditionally much bigger, however the recipe I used did not give a size, just to cut them into rounds. C’est la vie. I’m just glad I started when I did, as they took me almost 4 hours to make. Next time I’ll cut the recipe in half. The icing recipe was also way too much, but I could tell that it would be too much so I only made about 1/3 of it. These cookies were delicious and they will definitely be made again!

Empire Biscuits Ingredients L-R: White Sugar, Butter, Flour, Powdered Sugar, Maraschino Cherries. Not Pictured: Milk, Blackberry Preserves

Empire Biscuits Ingredients L-R: White Sugar, Butter, Flour, Powdered Sugar, Maraschino Cherries. Not Pictured: Milk, Blackberry Preserves

EMPIRE BISCUITS (makes about 6 dozen small sandwich cookies)

  • 2 Cups Butter
  • 1 Cup White Sugar
  • 4 Cups Flour
  • 1 Cup Raspberry Preserves
  • About 40 Maraschino Cherries
  • About 3 cups Powdered Sugar
  • 1/3 to 1/2 Cup Milk
  • Extra Flour for rolling/cutting cookies

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In your stand mixer cream together the butter and sugar. Gradually add in the flour until thoroughly mixed. On a large smooth surface, spread some flour out and roll out the dough to about 1/4″ thickness. Because I still don’t have a rolling pin I used a wine bottle (because I have plenty of those around, lol), and it worked pretty well. Cut into rounds, I used a 2 inch cookie cutter, but if you want bigger cookies (and therefore fewer ones) use a bigger cookie cutter. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes. I baked mine for 9 for the first few batches then reduced to 8 when the cookies were cooking faster. Let cool on a wire rack.

Butter and sugar ready for mixing.

Butter and sugar ready for mixing.

Creaming together the butter and sugar.

Creaming together the butter and sugar.

All ingredients mixed and ready for rolling out.

All ingredients mixed and ready for rolling out.

Board with flour ready for rolling the dough out.

Board with flour ready for rolling the dough out.

Empire Biscuits

So. Many. Cookies....

So. Many. Cookies….

Once the cookies are cool spread about a teaspoon (if making small cookies) of raspberry preserves (I actually used blackberry preserves) on the bottom of one cookie and place another cookie on top to make a sandwich. Once all cookies are made into sandwiches cut all your cherries in half then make the icing.

Sandwich cookies.

Sandwich cookies.

Powdered Sugar for the icing. Just add milk!

Powdered Sugar for the icing. Just add milk!

Icing is ready for the cookies!

Icing is ready for the cookies!

Spreading the icing on the cookies

Spreading the icing on the cookies

Empire BiscuitsIn a small bowl using a hand mixer, mix the powdered sugar and milk. Start with 1/4 cup milk with 2 cups sugar, add in more as needed. The icing should be smooth, kind of shiny and the consistency of thick gum. If it’s too watery add more sugar. If it’s too thick add more milk. Always in small doses. Spread about a teaspoon on each cookie sandwich, enough to cover the top of the cookie, and place half a cherry on the center. Serve and enjoy!

All done!

All done!

Empire Biscuits

5 Responses to “Empire Biscuits-Traditional Scottish Cookies”

  1. Mary Ann Williams June 11, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    Fun!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Marsha Ingrao June 17, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    Those look yummy. I saw your parents this week at Rattlesnake Aversion Training, and your dad said that you use his recipes sometimes. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • actinglikeachef June 17, 2013 at 10:46 am #

      Yes, most of the recipes (unless noted) are from my dad ๐Ÿ™‚ I learned everything I know from him and call him often for advice!

  3. Sinfully Tempting June 27, 2013 at 12:17 am #

    Those cookies look delicious…definitely adding them to my “must make” list!

Leave a Reply

