Grilled Chicken and Zucchini

26 Jun

Last Christmas I received a gift certificate to Amazon.com. Ah, but deciding what to get, that took about 3 months of debating and comparing, but I finally settled on a Lodge Grill-Griddle. I could finally grill properly in my apartment! When it finally arrived I couldn’t wait to use it, but alas, my busy schedule kept it in my cupboard for another few weeks! But I already knew what I wanted to make: grilled chicken and grilled zucchini. Grilled zucchini is one of my favorite ways to prepare zucchini. At my parents house when we barbecue, there’s always zucchini. It’s super easy, super yummy, and healthy! Hope you enjoy!

I used Tangerine Balsamic Vinegar, Olive Oil, Salt and Pepper for my marinade.

I used Tangerine Balsamic Vinegar, Olive Oil, Salt and Pepper for my marinade.

GRILLED CHICKEN AND ZUCCHINI (serves 1)

  • 1 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast
  • 1 Small to Medium Zucchini
  • 3 or 4 Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar (regular or flavored)
  • 1 to 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Marinate your chicken breast in about two tablespoons of balsamic vinegar and one tablespoon of olive oil. Salt and pepper the chicken breast as well. Feel free to add other herbs and spices like garlic powder, ground ginger, thyme or rosemary. Use flavors you like. You can also have your chicken marinating for as little as five minutes and as long as all day or night. While the chicken breast is marinating prep your zucchini. Slice off the tip with the “stem” and then cut lengthwise about 1/8 to 1/4 inch thick. Season both sides of each slice with salt, pepper, balsamic vinegar and olive oil.

Zucchini

Marinating my zucchini in the same chicken marinade

Marinating my zucchini in the same chicken marinade

I placed my Lodge Grill on a stove burner and turned the heat on medium high. Once the grill was hot I placed my chicken breast in the center. Cook each side of the chicken for about 8 to 10 minutes, depending on how thick the breast is. A few minutes before you turn over the piece of chicken, place your zucchini slices on the grill surrounding the chicken breast.

Starting the chicken on my Lodge Grill

Starting the chicken on my Lodge Grill

Grilling Chicken and Zucchini

Grilling Chicken and Zucchini

Flip over each slice after about 4 minutes. There should be grill marks. The zucchini will be done once it has become soft and the white of the zucchini should start to become translucent. The zucchini will probably finish before the chicken does. If you’re not sure if the chicken is done don’t be afraid to cut into it. Chicken can be difficult to cook, especially if the breast is thick. I’m going to fill you in on a secret, I’ve stuck my chicken breasts in the microwave when the very center hasn’t cooked through. Don’t be afraid to do the same if need be.

Grilling Chicken and Zucchini

Grilling Chicken and Zucchini

Once the zucchini and chicken are done move to a plate and season with more salt and pepper if need be. I usually do because I love me my salt and pepper! You can also make rice to serve with this as well, but it’s not needed as the dish is filling as is. Either way, enjoy!

Grilled Chicken and Zucchini ready to eat!

Grilled Chicken and Zucchini ready to eat!

4 Responses to “Grilled Chicken and Zucchini”

  1. tchistorygal July 1, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    Yum! That looks perfect! 🙂 Have a nice summer! 🙂

  2. Mary Ann Williams July 1, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    Looooovvvveee grilled zucchini! That is an awesome griller… makes me want to get one… 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Grilled Sirloin Steak with Pepper and Caper Salsa | Acting Like A Chef - August 1, 2013

    […] before she went on a trip the day before. You can also serve with a potato dish, corn on the cob, grilled zucchini, or anything else your heart desires. Val brought a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon from Trader […]

Leave a Reply

