Red White and Blue Potato Salad

22 Jul

I went to a friend’s place for the 4th of July holiday so when searching online for something to bring and I saw this potato salad on Food Network’s website and seemed perfect. It didn’t come from a specific chef, but from the official Food Network Kitchen. I normally don’t like potato salad, all that mayonnaise is just too much for me, especially after making it at a deli and I saw first hand how much mayo went in. Ugh. So now I only make potato salads sans mayo. Plus it’s healthier. Yay! The only thing I didn’t include from the recipe was the piquillo peppers (I like spice, but not everyone does so I kept it out just in case. Next time!). I had never tried hearts of palm before so I was a little nervous as to the final taste, but I figured, why not? I’m always willing to try anything once! I hope you like this salad as much as my friends and I did!

Red White and Blue Potato Salad Ingredients L-R: Sugar, Dijon Mustard, Hearts of Palm, Gold Potatoes, Baby Red Potatoes, Purple Potatoes, Scallions, Pepper, Kosher Salt, White Wine Vinegar, Olive Oil

Red White and Blue Potato Salad Ingredients L-R: Sugar, Dijon Mustard, Hearts of Palm, Gold Potatoes, Baby Red Potatoes, Purple Potatoes, Scallions, Pepper, Kosher Salt, White Wine Vinegar, Olive Oil

RED, WHITE AND BLUE POTATO SALAD (serves about 6 to 8)

  • About 2 lbs red, purple and gold potatoes (total, not each)
  • 3 Tbsp White Wine Vinegar
  • 1 Tsp Dijon Mustard
  • 1/4 Tsp Sugar
  • 1/4 Cup Olive Oil
  • 14 oz. Can of Hearts of Palm
  • 2 or 3 Scallions
  • 1 Tbsp Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 Tsp Salt
  • 1/4 Tsp Pepper
Red White and Blue Potato Salad

Potatoes all diced up and ready for boiling

Wash your potatoes and cut them up to bite size pieces (depending on the potato either in quarters or thirds). Fill a large pot of water and add in one tablespoon white wine vinegar and one tablespoon kosher salt and your potatoes and turn the heat up to medium-high. Cook about 15 to 20 minutes or until fork tender. Drain and let cool.

Potatoes are boiling

Potatoes are boiling

While the potatoes are cooking make the dressing. In a small bowl whisk together the remaining vinegar, mustard, sugar, salt and pepper. Pour in olive oil and whisk together.

The dressing ingredients except for the olive oil ready for mixing.

The dressing ingredients except for the olive oil ready for mixing.

Red White and Blue Potato Salad Dressing

Red White and Blue Potato Salad Dressing

Remove the hearts of palm from their can and slice lengthwise. This will be relatively easy, as they have the consistency of string cheese so it will want to easily slice apart. The online recipe calls for laying the potatoes out in a single layer and covering them with the hearts of palm.

Hearts of Palm in their can.

Hearts of Palm in their can.

Slicing up the hearts of palm

Slicing up the hearts of palm

Chop up your scallions and sprinkle on top. If you use the peppers, dice those up too and sprinkle on top as well. Then drizzle the dressing on top. I just took everything and mixed it all in a bowl, adding dressing as needed. It made it easy to transport and this way you get a little bit of everything. Either way I hope you enjoy this colorful potato salad!

Ready for dressing and mixing!

Ready for dressing and mixing!

Red White and Blue Potato Salad

Red White and Blue Potato Salad

3 Responses to “Red White and Blue Potato Salad”

  1. Sarah July 31, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    I’m going to make this one up in Canada! Haha, I’m sure no one will complain when it tastes yummy 🙂 This also seems like an excellent option for me to make and pack with me for lunch every day. –Sarah from locallookingglass.com, facebook.com/locallookingglass

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All American Apple Pie | Acting Like A Chef - July 29, 2013

    […] more apples and a store-bought crust I made a delicious pie that I took with me along with the Red, White and Blue Potato Salad to my friend’s 4th of July celebration (and a can of whip cream!) and we all enjoyed a nice […]

Leave a Reply

