All American Apple Pie

29 Jul

In addition to the potato salad I made for 4th of July this year I thought it would be appropriate to make an apple pie as well. My dad had brought down more jars of canned apples for pie making only a week before so they were just staring me in the face begging to be made. How could I say no?

Apple Pie Ingredients L-R: 2 Pie Crusts, 2 Pink Lady Apples, Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Apple Pie Filling, Spiced Apples

Apple Pie Ingredients L-R: 2 Pie Crusts, 2 Pink Lady Apples, Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Apple Pie Filling, Spiced Apples

Using one jar of apple pie mixture (recipe will be for another day, sorry) and another jar of spiced apples, plus a couple more apples and a store-bought crust I made a delicious pie that I took with me along with the Red, White and Blue Potato Salad to my friend’s 4th of July celebration (and a can of whip cream!) and we all enjoyed a nice big slice while celebrating our country’s independence. This post isn’t about making the apple pie mixture, but I did make some videos to see part of the process. Here’s Part 1 and here’s Part 2.

Pink Gala Apples

Pink Gala apples ready to be added to the pre-made apple pie mixture.

Apple Pie

Our apple pie just needs the top crust!

One of the things that makes an apple pie especially good is packing it with apples. So check out the first video where I use lots of apples! And while some recipes call for making your own pie crust, you can save a lot of time by using a store-bought crust. And I promise there isn’t a big taste difference. And you save a LOT of time and energy. Here’s part 2, assembling the pie and baking it! You can see on the oven my pot of potatoes boiling for the potato salad. I love to multitask!

Apple Pie

Ready for the oven!

Apple Pie

Apple Pie fresh from the oven! Yummm!!!

One Response to “All American Apple Pie”

  1. Mom July 29, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    Peaches are being canned today!!
    Just did 70 laps (a mile) in 51 minutes- swimming!

Leave a Reply

