Smashed Potatoes and Sausage

12 Sep

Slowly but surely I am making my way through Giada’s cookbook “Weeknights With Giada” and one Saturday afternoon I flipped through the book and landed on the Fried Smashed Potatoes with Lemon. It was a recipe I had been looking at for a while and it seemed like the perfect day to try them out. So I walked over to Vons and in addition to the fixings for my smashed potatoes I picked up some of my favorite Aidells chicken and apple sausages. I love Aidells sausages. They come in lots of varieties and can be paired with lots of different things. I love to include them with pasta.

Making the smashed potatoes wasn’t as easy as the recipe made it seem. I may not have let them dry long enough before smashing them, or I just didn’t have enough patience while frying. I guess I’ll just have to make them again to find out 😉 I also ended up with extra dressing that I used the following week for a completely different recipe, so keep your eyes peeled for that post later!

Smashed Potatoes Ingredients L-R: Thyme, Garlic, Baby Potatoes, Aidells Sausage, Citrus Salt, Parsley, Lemon, Pepper, Olive Oil

Smashed Potatoes Ingredients L-R: Thyme, Garlic, Baby Potatoes, Aidells Sausage, Citrus Salt, Parsley, Lemon, Pepper, Olive Oil

FRIED SMASHED POTATOES AND CHICKEN AND APPLE SAUSAGE (serves 2)

  • 2 Aidells Sausages
  • 1 Pound Baby or Fingerling Potatoes (I used red, white and purple)
  • 1/4 Cup Olive Oil, Plus Extra 2 Tbsp
  • 2 Garlic Cloves (feel free to add more or less depending on your love of garlic)
  • Zest of 1 Lemon
  • 2 Tbsp Lemon Juice (about half of a lemon juiced)
  • 1 Tbsp Chopped fresh flat leaf parsley
  • 2 Tsp Chopped Fresh Thyme
  • 1/4 Tsp Kosher Salt
  • 1/4 Tsp Black Pepper
baby potatoes

Boiling the baby potatoes

Fill a large pot with water and add the potatoes so they are fully covered at least two inches. Place on the stove and bring to a boil. Cook until the potatoes are fork tender, about 20 to 25 minutes. When done, drain and allow to dry for 5 minutes. Lay out a large cutting board or a plate and take each potato (make sure they’re also cool to the touch) and gently press them until they are smashed. I used the flat side of my chef’s knife which I think worked better after having a tough time with my hand.

I smashed my potatoes with my chef's knife

I smashed my potatoes with my chef’s knife

Time to fry! First, peel and cut your garlic cloves in half. In a large skillet (preferably nonstick), heat 1/4 cup olive oil over medium-high heat. Toss in the garlic and cook for about a minute, or until you can smell the garlic and it has become slightly brown. Remove the garlic and discard and then add in the potatoes and cook.

Fresh Garlic

Frying Potatoes

Frying the smashed potatoes

Only add as many as will fit in the pan without crowding them. Do not stir them, let them sit for about 5 to 8 minutes, or until the bottoms turn golden brown. (This might have been my downfall.) Turn the potatoes over and cook for another 5 to 8 minutes, drizzling with oil if needed (more so for second batches). Once done remove to a plate or bowl for serving.

Frying Potatoes

After the potatoes have been turned

While you’re waiting for each side to cook make your dressing and cook your sausage. For the dressing, in a small bowl combine the 2 tablespoons of olive oil, lemon zest, lemon juice, parsley, thyme, salt and pepper. The best tool to use for grating is a Microplane grater. I like the one that the cover doubles as a holder when grating (see the photo below). Whisk together and when all the potatoes have finished cooking spoon enough of the dressing over the potatoes to coat.

Fresh Thyme

Chopping fresh thyme

Microplane grater and lemon

Use a microplane grater to get the zest from your lemon

Lemon juice and zest, thyme, olive oil, parsley for the dressing!

Lemon juice and zest, thyme, olive oil, parsley for the dressing!

For the sausage you have a couple of options. The advantage of Aidells is they are actually precooked, so you just have to heat them up. You can use the microwave, grill on the stove (or a grill), or boil in a pot of water. For this dinner I heated mine in small pot of water (much like you can do with a hotdog). Boil for about 4 to 6 minutes. I served with the smashed potatoes and drizzled with some leftover honey mustard sauce. I also still had a leftover roasted bell pepper that I cut up and mixed with the potatoes too. Yum indeed!

Smashed Potatoes and Aidells Sausage

Smashed Potatoes and Aidells Sausage

One Response to “Smashed Potatoes and Sausage”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lemon Chicken and Sweet Corn | Acting Like A Chef - September 19, 2013

    […] there is always some leftover which I save and try to use for something else. When I made the smashed potatoes there was leftover lemon dressing which I put in my fridge wondering what I would do with it. After […]

Leave a Reply

