Lemon Chicken and Sweet Corn

19 Sep

Whenever I make a recipe that has some sort of dressing there is always some leftover which I save and try to use for something else. When I made the smashed potatoes there was leftover lemon dressing which I put in my fridge wondering what I would do with it. After my back to back travels I wanted something that wouldn’t take too much effort. Enter my leftover lemon dressing. I had stopped by the store on my way home and picked up some corn, although I was still unsure what exactly would be my main dish. But once I got home and looked in my freezer and saw chicken and then looked in my fridge and saw the lemon dressing it was decided: lemon chicken. *I didn’t take a lot of photos because I was in such a hurry. Sorry.* It was a delicious decision! Hope you enjoy it too!

LEMON CHICKEN AND SWEET CORN (serves 1)

  • 1 Ear of Corn
  • 1 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breast
  • 2 Tbsp of Lemon Dressing from Giada’s Smashed Potatoes
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
sweet corn

Fresh sweet corn

Start a pot of water to boil for your corn. Be sure it’s big enough that the ear of corn can fit fully submerged. Once the water starts to boil add in your corn and cook for about 6-8 minutes.

chicken breast

Sliced up chicken breast ready for the pan

While you’re waiting for the water to boil, defrost your chicken (if need be) and then cut your chicken into 1/2″ slices. Once you add your corn to the boiling water start cooking your chicken. They should end at about the same time. Heat the olive oil in a medium pan over medium-high heat. Add in your chicken pieces and sprinkle a little salt and pepper over them while they cook.

chicken breast

I’ve seasoned my chicken breast and it’s just about ready to turn over.

Once the pieces start to cook (the edges will start to turn white), flip over and salt and pepper lightly again. Add in a couple of tablespoons of the lemon dressing and turn the heat down to medium. Stir around to coat the chicken nicely. Cook for another few minutes until done.

Lemon Chicken

After adding the lemon dressing from the smashed potatoes recipe, these chicken pieces are just about done!

Serve with your corn and enjoy! If you want a larger meal I suggest making rice, potatoes, or a salad.

Lemon Chicken and Sweet Corn

Lemon Chicken and Sweet Corn ready to eat!

Leave a Reply

