One Year of Blogging

24 Sep

I can’t believe it’s been a year since I started blogging. It’s actually been a little over a year since I made the decision, about 15 months to be more precise. I was trying to find a creative outlet, and while a lot of people in the entertainment industry tell actors to write their own scripts and shoot their own film or web series, I’ve never felt confident about my fiction writing and couldn’t face that challenge quite yet (one day though, one day!). So I looked around me for more inspiration. And I found it in my good friend Mary. She had been talking about her own happiness in blogging all year and so, secretly and quietly, I began researching the world of blogging.

The first thing I had to do was figure out what exactly I was going to blog about! One might think it was an easy decision to pick cooking, and in some ways it was, but with so many blogs out there about every subject imaginable, I had to find something to make my blog different. I knew that whatever I chose it had to be something I was passionate about, something I would be excited to write about. The cooking aspect definitely came first, and then I knew I wanted to combine it with my acting career. And then one day the name clicked, Acting Like A Chef, and I knew I had found my blog. Not long after, I was having lunch with Mary at a sushi place near her apartment and we were talking about everything going on in our lives. It took me awhile to bring up my idea, but after we had eaten our first rolls and our second rolls had been placed in front of our big eyes, I quietly told her my secret blog plan. I will never forget her reaction, one of pure excitement! I felt so silly that I had been nervous to tell her, but she was so excited for me and so supportive, I quickly got excited all over again.

I started setting everything up on WordPress, figuring out a layout and what I wanted to include. I looked at a lot of different blogs to find things I liked and didn’t like, played around with different themes and started making a list of posts I wanted to write.ย  I also told my parents when they came down to visit. They both instilled in me a love of food and cooking, and I knew that many of my recipes would come from them, especially my dad. They were both so supportive and excited for me. And while I’ve spilled a few secrets from my father’s kitchen, he loves reading my posts to see how I cook his recipes. My mom was even my first guest blogger earlier this summer!

My first post wasn’t really even a post, I wrote it before I even had followers. I actually thought I was writing my about page and I didn’t realize till much later that it was a post! Ha! So my first post that I shared with everyone was my Greek Pasta that I had actually made earlier in the summer and was the catalyst for me to choose a cooking blog. I launched my Facebook page on September 24, 2012, and the “first” post was released two days later.

I’ve come a long way since last September. At Thanksgiving last year I had my uncle take beautiful photographs of the food and me cooking. I learned (and am still learning) the best way to use my camera and lighting options to get good photos. You can find me on Twitter, Pinterest (although I’m still figuring that social media site out) and Instagram for all my on the go adventures. I’m still learning how to reach a bigger audience, but most of all I’m having a great time. Thank you for joining me on this journey, I hope you’re having as much fun as I am.

Sarah Allyn Bauer, Pat Bauer

My dad, Chef Pat, and me cooking Thanksgiving dinner. And laughing over who the head chef was (him!)

5 Responses to “One Year of Blogging”

  1. Mary Ann Williams September 24, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    Yay, you!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ So proud of you for starting your blog. I’m also finally getting caught up on reading, too… ๐Ÿ˜‰ Big ((HUGS)) ๐Ÿ™‚

    • actinglikeachef September 24, 2013 at 10:45 pm #

      Thanks darling!! I couldn’t have done it without you!!! love ya!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. David M Beach September 24, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

    happy birthday!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Cheesecake For My Anniversary | Acting Like A Chef - October 4, 2013

    […] about a week ago was my 1 year blog anniversary. I couldn’t believe that it had been a year since I began sharing my recipes with everyone. I […]

Leave a Reply

