Chocolate Cheesecake For My Anniversary

4 Oct

So about a week ago was my 1 year blog anniversary. I couldn’t believe that it had been a year since I began sharing my recipes with everyone. I knew that I wanted to make something special, but it wasn’t until just a few days before my anniversary that I knew exactly what it would be: a chocolate cheesecake. Back home my dad is kind of famous for his baking. A jar of his cookies once started a bidding war at a silent auction for Visalia Assembly of the California Rainbow for Girls that even involved the jar being “misplaced” and a record winning bid. It was quite an eventful auction, and one that we still talk about, lol. Well his other signature baking dish is his cheesecake, specifically his chocolate cheesecake. Since I was in high school I would ask my dad to make one as my birthday cake. And when my dad came down for my birthday in 2012 he made one and bought a springform pan that he left for me so I could make one myself. I was always scared to make one because his are soooo good, even though he gave me the recipe while I was still in college. Well 19 months later I finally conquered my fear and made one myself. This one served as a birthday cake for my dad and my sister on a visit home. Enjoy!

Chocolate Cheesecake Ingredients L-R: Vanilla, Chocolate Graham Crackers, Eggs, Butter, Cream Cheese, Cocoa Powder, Sour Cream, Chocolate Chips, Sugar

Chocolate Cheesecake Ingredients L-R: Vanilla, Chocolate Graham Crackers, Eggs, Butter, Cream Cheese, Cocoa Powder, Sour Cream, Chocolate Chips, Sugar

CHOCOLATE CHEESECAKE (serves about 12)

  • 1 Pkg. Chocolate Wafer Cookies or 1 Box of Chocolate Graham Crackers
  • 1/2 Cup (1 stick) Unsalted Butter
  • 24 oz. Cream Cheese
  • 1 Cup Sugar plus 3 Tbsp
  • 1 1/2 Cups Sour Cream (24 oz)
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Tbsp Cocoa Powder
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla
  • 10 oz. Chocolate Chips (I used Ghiradelli 60% chips)
  • 1/2 Cup Seedless Raspberry or Apricot Preserves (optional)
  • 9″ Springform Pan (an 8″ or 10″ one will work too)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Make your crust first. In a food processor crush the cookies until fine. You might need to hand crush a few larger pieces if you use graham cracker cookies (like I did). Transfer crumbs to a small mixing bowl. In a small pot melt your butter. Add the melted butter and the three tablespoons of sugar to the cookie crumbs and mix well.

Chocolate Graham Crackers

Chocolate Graham Crackers ready for the Cuisinart

Graham Cracker Crust

Above: The crust mixture
Below: The crust all set in the pan.

Transfer to your cake pan and press into the bottom and up the sides to form the crust (see above). It’s okay if the crust doesn’t go all the way up to the top of the pan.

Next make the filling. My dad uses his Cuisinart food processor, I used my Kitchen Aid mixer, you can also use a hand mixer or a spoon, it’s up to you. Mix together the cream cheese, remaining sugar and sour cream. Blend until smooth. Add in the eggs and mix well. Finally add in your cocoa powder and vanilla (on a low setting if using a mixer).

Cream Cheese, Sugar, Sour Cream, Cocoa Powder, Vanilla

Clockwise from Top Left: Mixing the cream cheese and sugar. After mixing in the sour cream and eggs. Adding in the cocoa powder and vanilla (so pretty!). After they’re mixed in the color doesn’t change much.

Melt your chocolate chips either in a microwavable safe bowl or in a double boiler on the stove. A double boiler consists of a pot of water with either a fitted pot on top (you can buy a set) or what I do, a bowl.

Chocolate Chips, Double Boiler

Melting the chocolate chips in my homemade double boiler

Add melted chocolate to mixture and blend until mixture is smooth.

Melted Chocolate

Melted Chocolate

Mixing in the melted chocolate. Isn’t it pretty!

Pour mixture into cake pan and put into oven. Bake for 50 minutes for a 9 inch pan (1 hour for an 8 inch pan). When done, remove from the oven and let cool. It will puff up above the pan (see photo below) while baking, which is completely normal.

Chocolate Cheesecake

Cheesecake is ready for the oven

Chocolate Cheesecake

Fresh from the oven! As you can see it puffed up about an inch. It will go down later.

Store in the refrigerator until you’re ready to serve. When ready to serve melt about 1/2 cup of seedless raspberry or apricot preserves in the microwave and pour over the top and spread over the top.

Chocolate Cheesecake

After cooling for about 45 minutes or so it deflated and is ready to go in the fridge.

Chocolate Cheesecake

The ring has been removed and is almost ready for serving, just going to add the jam.

I recommend thin slices, as it’s very rich. Enjoy with a cold glass of milk or a cup of coffee!

Chocolate Cheesecake

It’s finally ready to be served.

Chocolate Cheesecake

Served best with a cold glass of milk! Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Chocolate Cheesecake For My Anniversary”

  1. Mom Helen October 4, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    Cheesecake was every it as good as dad’s!! Yum.

Leave a Reply

