Gourmet Burger and Sweet Potato Fries

14 Nov

I bought a sweet potato, but I wasn’t sure why. I went shopping hungry so I bought a few things only because I was hungry. NEVER go grocery shopping hungry! It was still staring at me on a Sunday morning and I was determined to use it for something. While looking in my freezer I saw the box of gourmet hamburger patties that my friend Mary gave me before she left for Texas (remember the shrimp?) and it hit me-I could make sweet potato fries to go with a yummy burger! It was a nice day so I walked to the store and got my favorite burger fixings: red onion, avocado and mushrooms. I couldn’t wait for dinner!

sweet potatoBURGER AND SWEET POTATO FRIES (serves 1, pick your own toppings)

  • 1 Burger Patty
  • 1 Mushroom
  • A couple slices of a red onion
  • 1/2 Avocado
  • Stone ground Mustard (or condiments of your choice)
  • Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Sweet Potato (unless you want to make enough for two people, or just a lot of fries)
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Cinnamon (optional)
  • 1 Burger Bun

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. One half of a medium size sweet potato is enough to make fries for one serving. Or you can make the entire potato. (I saved half for another night and fried them rather than baked them.)

sweet potatoCut up the sweet potato into small strips and spread them evenly on a baking sheet. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and cinnamon (if you like). Bake for 20 minutes, turning them over about halfway through.

sweet potato fries

Ready for baking!

sweet potato friesWhile your fries are baking get your burger ready. To cook my burger I used my Lodge grill pan. You can use a BBQ, regular skillet, the oven or even a microwave. Spray your pan with a cooking spray and heat  the pan over medium-high heat. Put your burger in the middle of the pan and cook each side for about 6-7 minutes.

beef burger

Beef burger ready for grilling

Feel free to pick whatever toppings you like. I’m a big fan of sautéed mushrooms, grilled onions and avocado. Slice the mushroom into thin slices and cut up a few slices of onion. Heat about a tablespoon of oil in a small skillet and add in the mushrooms, stirring occasionally. Once they start to turn golden (if you like grilled onions as well), add in your onion slices. Continue to cook until onions are slightly translucent and limp and the mushrooms are a golden brown and have started to curl around the edges. Remove from heat and set aside until your burger is done. Take your avocado half and slice into about 1/4 inch slices.

Mushrooms and Onions

Mushrooms and Onions ready for sauteing.

sweet potato fries

Sweet potato fries halfway done.

To toast or not to toast your bun is completely up to you. I threw mine on my grill pan for about 30 seconds to get it warm. Then I spread some stone ground mustard on both halves. When the burger is done place on the bottom half and top with the sautéed mushrooms and onions.

Gourmet Burger

Beef Burger topped with sauteed mushrooms, grilled onions and fresh avocado.

Beef Burger topped with sautéed mushrooms, grilled onions and fresh avocado.

Top with your avocado slices and the top half of the bun. Your fries should be done right about now. Grab your favorite dipping sauce (I chose barbecue sauce) and enjoy!

Gourmet Burger with Sweet Potato Fries

Gourmet Burger with Baked Sweet Potato Fries

Leave a Reply

