Eggs Florentine

9 Jan

To conclude my weekend of cooking last November (I also made a yummy salad for lunch and Chicken Tarragon for dinner that weekend), I woke up Sunday morning and made a semi-fancy breakfast of Eggs Florentine. This is another recipe from my favorite kitchen goddess, Giada de Laurentiis and her book “Weeknights With Giada”. However, her recipe is under Breakfast for Dinner. While I do occasionally enjoy my french toast at 7pm, I mostly like it for breakfast or brunch.

I love Eggs Florentine (and various versions) when I go out for breakfasts because a) it’s delicious and b) it seems too fancy to make at home. Well I finally bit the bullet and made it myself. I wasn’t sure how it would turn out, especially since I had never poached an egg before. Giada topped hers with baked prosciutto, alas, I did not have any sitting around. I also used grated mozzarella instead of grated romano. And finally I had no onions hanging around my kitchen (you can hit me later dad), but I’m still including that part of the recipe. It turned out to be pretty delicious, although a lot of work for the morning, lol. I think this is a morning person’s dish.

*Side note: I tried doing it again, however my water wasn’t hot enough when I put the egg in and when I tried to remove it, it had stuck to the bottom and I ended up breaking the yolk. You can see a picture below the nice one at the end.*

Eggs Florentine Ingredients L-R: Olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper, egg, english muffin, grated mozzarella, nutmeg, spinach, lemon juice

Eggs Florentine Ingredients L-R: Olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper, egg, english muffin, grated mozzarella, nutmeg, spinach, lemon juice

EGGS FLORENTINE (serves 1)

  • Cooking Spray
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1/4 of Small Onion (can do without)
  • 1 Garlic Clove
  • 1 Cup Baby Spinach
  • Pinch of Nutmeg
  • 2 Tbsp Heavy Cream (I used milk)
  • 2 Tbsp Grated Mozzarella Cheese (or Romano)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 1 Tsp Lemon Juice
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 English Muffin (or just a half if you wish)

First prep your onion and chop finely and set aside. Then mince your garlic clove and set aside. I highly recommend doing mise en place for the rest of your ingredients so they’re ready to throw in the pan as this is a fast-moving recipe.

Fill a small pot with about 3 inches of water. Add in 1 teaspoon of salt and the lemon juice. Over medium heat bring the water to a simmer. While waiting for the water to simmer, crack your egg into a small bowl, taking great care not to break the yolk. The best way to crack an egg is on a flat surface to get an even crack. Once the water is simmering (and you must be patient for it to simmer), carefully slide the egg into the water. As long as it doesn’t sink down to the bottom your water is hot enough. Using a wooden spoon, carefully stir the water around the egg, so as not to disturb the egg.

Poaching an egg

This is right after the egg was slid into the simmering water.

Poaching an egg

You can see the egg just below the surface. The white stuff floating is the cooked egg white that has broken off.

Cook for about 2 to 3 minutes in this manner, stirring only occasionally, until the white has set and the yolk is still soft. On a small plate place a paper towel doubled or tripled folded. Using a slotted spoon remove the egg and place on the paper towel to drain and cover to keep warm.

poached egg

The egg is ready to come out of the water.

In a medium skillet, heat your olive oil over medium-high heat. Once hot, add in your chopped onions and cook until soft, about 5 minutes. Stir frequently, then add in the garlic and cook for about 30 seconds, until the garlic is fragrant. Add in your spinach and a pinch of nutmeg and cook until the spinach has wilted. Add the heavy cream and bring the mixture to a simmer, stirring occasionally for about 5 minutes, until it has thickened. Turn off the heat and stir in the cheese, salt and pepper. Then cover to keep warm.

Eggs Florentine, spinach and cream

Making the spinach mixture (sans the onions).

*Side Note: Giada has you make the spinach mixture first, however, I found that by the time my egg was done, my spinach mixture had become cool and not as liquidy. (Yes, I made up that last word.)

Eggs Florentine, poached egg

Topping the english muffin with the spinach mixture and then the poached egg.

Toast your English muffin and lightly butter each side and lay out on your plate. Spoon your spinach mixture onto one side of the muffin and set the poached egg on top. If you care, top the egg with crispy prosciutto or bacon. Enjoy with a lovely cup of coffee (I prefer Peet’s) or a glass of orange juice and savor the morning.

Eggs Florentine, poached egg

A beautiful poached egg ready for eating.

Broken poached egg

My second attempt at poaching an egg didn’t turn out quite as well.

Leave a Reply

