Pumpkin Chutney Bread

28 Jan

I love the holiday season. I love the happy feelings that are prevalent. I love the cold weather, or at least in Los Angeles the chilly weather. But most of all I love all the good food that happens-especially the baking. As I’ve said before, my parents do a lot of baking and cooking. For the Christmas season my dad will literally bake up a storm. When I was younger I’d wake up on Saturday mornings to the smell of cinnamon wafting from the kitchen. My dad would be halfway through a batch of cookies before I finished my breakfast. Everything he baked would be laid out on the dining room table and my mom would carefully assemble baskets or tins for all our friends. And when I had my own apartment I started doing the same. Because I’m a night owl though, I bake into the night rather than wake up early. So on the first Saturday night of December I made my first batch of bread: Pumpkin Chutney Bread.

Sarah Allyn Bauer, Chef SarahThere are a few staples every year: chocolate truffles, 2 different kinds of bread (I also made Spiced Apple), some kind of Hershey Kiss cookies, and for the last 2 years I made Blonde Brownies. And then I like to try new recipes. This year I decided to try my dad’s Pumpkin Chutney Bread recipe. This year actually became a very pumpkin centric baking season. I also made Pumpkin Spice Biscotti (recipe to come) and Pumpkin Spice Cookies (not cut out though, regular balls). For my friend Erin who loves pumpkin she was VERY excited! So if you’re a pumpkin fan here’s a yummy bread recipe. Enjoy!

Pumpkin Chutney Bread Ingredients L-R: Flour, Pumpkin Puree, Nutmeg, Dark Brown Sugar, Baking Soda, Walnuts, Raisins, Allspice, Cinnamon, Eggs, Butter, Salt, Baking Powder, Buttermilk, Chutney

Pumpkin Chutney Bread Ingredients L-R: Flour, Pumpkin Puree, Nutmeg, Dark Brown Sugar, Baking Soda, Walnuts, Raisins, Allspice, Cinnamon, Eggs, Butter, Salt, Baking Powder, Buttermilk, Chutney

PUMPKIN CHUTNEY BREAD (1 large loaf or 4 small ones)

DRY INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/3 Cup Flour
  • 3/4 Tsp Salt
  • 1 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 1/2 Tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/4 Tsp Nutmeg
  • 1/8 Tsp Allspice
  • 1/2 Cup Raisins
  • 1/2 Cup Walnuts (optional)

WET INGREDIENTS

  • 1/3 Cup Butter
  • 2/3 Cup Dark Brown Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/4 Cup Buttermilk
  • 1 Cup Pumpkin Puree
  • 2/3 Cup Chutney

Make sure your oven rack is halfway or the upper third part of the oven. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and pull out your loaf pans. For the holidays I use small loaf pans, but if you just want a loaf of bread to have use a large pan, 9x5x3 is the standard. Combine all your dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.

Pumpkin Chutney Bread Dry Ingredients: Raisins, Flour, Walnuts, Allspice, Nutmeg, Cinnamon, Baking Soda, Baking Powder, Salt

Pumpkin Chutney Bread Dry Ingredients: Raisins, Flour, Walnuts, Allspice, Nutmeg, Cinnamon, Baking Soda, Baking Powder, Salt

In your stand mixer, or in a large mixing bowl if using a hand mixer, mix together your butter and sugar first. Beat until smooth then add in  your eggs and buttermilk on low-speed until thoroughly mixed. Turn it off and add in the pumpkin puree and chutney and beat on low-speed until completely mixed. Be sure to scrape down the sides of the bowl to make sure all the ingredients are mixed.

Mixing the wet ingredients. First up the butter and dark brown sugar.

Mixing the wet ingredients. First up the butter and dark brown sugar.

Pumpkin Chutney Bread Wet Ingredients, eggs and buttermilk

Adding in the eggs and buttermilk.

The final wet ingredients added are the pumpkin puree and the chutney.

The final wet ingredients added are the pumpkin puree and the chutney.

Turning the stand mixer to the lowest setting slowly add in your dry ingredients, about a cup at a time, until all mixed in. Again, be sure to stop your mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl.

All wet and dry ingredients combined. Pumpkin Chutney Bread

All wet and dry ingredients combined.

Pumpkin Chutney Bread

Ready for the oven!

Spray your loaf pans with flour baking spray, or grease with butter or shortening. Pour the bread mixture evenly between the four loaf pans, about halfway into each one. Bake small loaves for about 35-40 minutes and a large loaf for about 70 minutes. To test doneness, insert a wooden toothpick into the center. It should come out clean when bread is done. Let cool in the pan for about 10 minutes then remove from pans and cool on a wire rack. To give as gifts, wrap in aluminum foil and store in your fridge until you give away. Or you can stick in your freezer. Be sure to label them too! Enjoy!

Pumpkin Chutney Bread

Fresh from the oven, Pumpkin Chutney Bread!

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Chutney Bread”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spiced Apple Bread | Acting Like A Chef - January 30, 2014

    […] Sunday evening, after a great Saturday night of making Pumpkin Chutney Bread, I pulled out my bread pans again and made Spiced Apple Bread. About a week ago I thought I […]

  2. Pumpkin Spice Biscotti | Acting Like A Chef - February 4, 2014

    […] I said last week, this year’s holiday baking became a pumpkin year. In addition to the Pumpkin Chutney Bread and Pumpkin Spice Cookies, I also made Pumpkin Spice Biscotti! This was the first time I made […]

Leave a Reply

