Secret Kisses Cookies

6 Feb

I have a love affair with Hershey’s. Actually, I’ve always had a love affair with chocolate, ever since I was a little girl, but it wasn’t until near the end of my junior year, March 20o2 to be exact, that Hershey’s and I became inseparable. I was appointed to a state office in the California Rainbow for Girls, the Grand Representative to Ohio and Pennsylvania, and since Hershey’s was founded in Pennsylvania, my life was immediately filled with all things Hershey’s and all things chocolate. To this day I see something Hershey and I just have to have it. Earrings, necklace, hoodie, old candy tins, and of course, cookbooks. And so every year during my holiday baking I always use a recipe from these books that uses a whole Hershey’s Kiss. Last year it was chocolate thumbprint cookies and this year it is Secret Kisses Cookies from Hershey’s Kisses Brand Recipes (that is in the shape of a kiss, lol).

33911_A_01_Kisses_EBUI thought I would be clever and use not just regular kisses, but caramel filled ones too. Well…it kind of backfired on me, and while they were baking the caramel proceeded to melt and seep from the cookies. Well drat. Upon eating one later I discovered that the kisses became hollow. Drat again. While some of the caramel stuck to the bottom of the cookies, some melted to the pan. Oh well, have to try it at least once! I don’t know if I’d make these cookies again, I think I prefer the thumbprint ones better. Tell me in the comments below which one you prefer!

Secret Kisses Cookies Ingredients L-R: Flour, Milk Chocolate Kisses, Crisco Butter Flavor, Vanilla, Sugar, Caramel Kisses, Powdered Sugar

Secret Kisses Cookies Ingredients L-R: Flour, Milk Chocolate Kisses, Crisco Butter Flavor, Vanilla, Sugar, Caramel Kisses, Powdered Sugar

SECRET KISSES COOKIES (makes about 3 dozen)

  • 1 Cup Butter
  • 1/2 Cup Sugar
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla
  • 1 3/4 Cups Flour
  • 1 Cup Finely Chopped Walnuts or Almonds (optional)
  • 36 Hershey’s Kisses (I used Milk Chocolate along with a few Caramel filled ones)
  • Powdered Sugar for sprinkling, about 1/4 cup

DON’T preheat the oven as you will need to refrigerate the dough for an hour or two before baking.

In your stand mixer (or large mixing bowl if using a hand mixer), cream together your softened butter and sugar until fluffy on high-speed. On a low-speed slowly add in your flour (and nuts if you choose-I did not) and mix until well blended. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 to 2 hours until the dough is firm.

Secret Kisses Cookies

Creaming together the butter and sugar

Secret Kisses Cookies

Mixing in the flour to form the dough.

Once dough is firm, preheat the oven to 375 degrees and unwrap your kisses. Scoop out about one tablespoon of dough and form a  ball around each kiss. Make sure that the kiss is completely covered by the dough.

Secret Kisses Cookies

Secret Kisses Cookies ready for the oven!

Bake each sheet for 10 to 12 minutes. Start at 10 minutes and increase by 1 minute at a time if additional baking time is needed. When done let cool for about 2 minutes then remove to wire racks to finish cooling.

Secret Kisses Cookies fresh from the oven.

Secret Kisses Cookies fresh from the oven.

Before completely cool though, roll in powdered sugar (or sprinkle over cookies). Enjoy!

Secret Kisses Cookies cooling on the wire rack after rolling in powdered sugar.

Secret Kisses Cookies cooling on the wire rack after rolling in powdered sugar. You can see one in the upper right that has caramel leaking, lol.

5 Responses to “Secret Kisses Cookies”

  1. Rola February 6, 2014 at 2:48 pm #

    Yum! Who would ever reject kisses from good ole Hershey? I, too, made a batch of cookies using Hershey’s kisses. Feel free to check out my attempt, if you’d like. http://thetalkingpencil.com/2013/08/01/birthday-chocolate-kiss-cookies/ 🙂

    • actinglikeachef February 6, 2014 at 10:41 pm #

      Yum indeed! Thanks for sharing! Let me know if you make these secret kiss ones 🙂

      • Rola February 6, 2014 at 10:45 pm #

        Will do! My pleasure! 🙂

  2. sophiebowns February 7, 2014 at 2:10 am #

    I bet they’re delicious !

Leave a Reply

