Stuffed Portobello Mushroom

28 Feb

As a kid, I hated mushrooms. I mean really, what kid under the age of 12 likes mushrooms? But I don’t think I had a Portobello mushroom till I was in college and it was as a Portobello mushroom burger. It was so good I remember asking myself why I hadn’t had one earlier! So when my cookbook “The Pleasures of Cooking For One” had a recipe for a stuffed Portobello mushroom I just had to make it. It was so delicious and easy that I’ve made it a few times and this time I documented it to share with you. You can make one for yourself, or a little extra stuffing for more guests. And I bet you could do it on a small-scale for a party. Hmmm…now that has me thinking…Anyway, if you skip the meat in the stuffing and use another vegetable or tofu this will also work as a great vegetarian meal. Because I had part of a bell pepper in my fridge I used that as well. It added some great color to the meal. I was also going to sauté some onion, but forgot to once I started cooking. Gah! Anyways, enjoy!

Stuffed Portobello Mushroom Ingredients L-R: Salt & Pepper, Bread Crumbs, Onion, Bell Pepper, Butter, Oregano, Basil, Portobello Mushroom, Ground Beef, Olive Oil

Stuffed Portobello Mushroom Ingredients L-R: Salt & Pepper, Bread Crumbs, Onion, Bell Pepper, Butter, Oregano, Basil, Portobello Mushroom, Ground Beef, Olive Oil

STUFFED PORTOBELLO MUSHROOM (serves 1)

  • 1 Portobello Mushroom
  • 2 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 Garlic Clove
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 1 Heaping Tbsp Fresh Parsley, Chives, Tarragon or Sage
  • 1 to 2 Tbsp Chopped/Crumbled Meat: Ground Sausage, Ground Beef, Ham, Bacon, Prosciutto (your choice)
  • Olive Oil
  • 1/4 to 1/3 Cup Fresh Breadcrumbs

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. If your meat is uncooked heat a small skillet and add about a teaspoon of olive oil and cook up your meat. Add in your chopped bell pepper and onion as well if you decide to add that them in. When done put into a small bowl and set aside. I have used ground beef or sausage so far as it’s cheaper and I can buy a large amount and use the rest for other meals.

Ground Beef & Bell Pepper

Cooking up the ground beef and chopped bell pepper.

Next, cut off the stem of your mushroom and trim off any tough part. Make sure to wipe off any dirt (especially if you get your mushroom from a farmer’s market).

Portobello Mushroom

The stem is easily torn off from the mushroom cap.

Take the stem and chop into small pieces. Peel and slice your garlic into thin slivers. Use your pairing knife so you have more control in making the slivers. In your same small skillet, melt your butter and sauté the garlic and the mushroom stem pieces for about 5 minutes over medium heat. Season with salt and pepper and then add in your herb and meat of choices. Turn the heat off and let sit in the pan while you prep your mushroom.

Chopped up Portobello Mushroom Stem

Chopped up Portobello Mushroom Stem

Portobello Mushroom Stem

Cooking up the mushroom stem pieces

Pour about a teaspoon of olive oil on your mushroom cap and rub all over with your fingers. Add more if needed to coat the outside and the inside evenly. Season the mushroom with salt and pepper. Place in a baking dish with the cup side up, the side that looks like a grill. I use a small Pyrex dish. Spoon your stuffing into the cup of the mushroom making sure it completely fills the cap. Sprinkle bread crumbs on top to your desired amount.

The mushroom is ready for the oven. The top is the cap filled with the stuffing and the bottom is with the bread crumbs sprinkled on top.

The mushroom is ready for the oven. The top is the cap filled with the stuffing and the bottom is with the bread crumbs sprinkled on top.

Place your baking dish in the oven and bake for about 30 minutes. The bread crumbs should be browned and crispy. Remove from oven and enjoy!

Stuffed Portobello Mushroom

My stuffed Portobello mushroom is ready to eat! Yum!

2 Responses to “Stuffed Portobello Mushroom”

  1. Jillian February 28, 2014 at 5:01 pm #

    Seriously may have to cook this tonight. OMG it looks good.

Leave a Reply

