Lemon and Blueberry Pie For Pi Day and Debi Baker

1 Apr

Earlier this month, as March 14 approached, I started thinking about what kind of pie I wanted to make for Pi Day 2014. Last year I made a Mississippi Mud Pie. And it was delicious! As I contemplated what to make I remembered that my dad had given me a jar of his homemade Meyer lemon custard. (Yea, my dad makes his own lemon custard.) So with that in mind I decided to make a lemon custard pie of some sort. That was Thursday morning. Thursday afternoon one of my dear friends from high school called from Nashville. Her mom had been admitted to the hospital in Santa Barbara with an aggressive form of cancer and she had been given just days to live. My friend (Alex) had just arrived at the airport and was flying out to California. I told her I would meet her at the hospital on Friday morning.

I was devastated. Debi Baker wasn’t your average mom. She had always cut her own path and many times Alex would say she felt like their relationship was more like Lorelei and Rory Gilmore from the TV show “Gilmore Girls”. They trusted each other, took care of each other and were the best of friends. On a Tuesday morning her friends and family gathered to say goodbye and celebrate her life. Debi was big on living in the moment. She traveled even when she had no money. She adopted pets, even after she already had a house full of animals. Debi was loved by many and loved many. I feel privileged to have known her.

There is something about food that has magical powers to make us feel better in bad times. Especially baked goods. This pie is super easy to make and the only thing you bake is the crust. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Lemon Blueberry Pie Ingredients L-R: Blueberries, Pie Crust, Lemon Curd, Whipping Cream, Powdered Sugar, Vanilla

Lemon Blueberry Pie Ingredients L-R: Blueberries, Pie Crust, Lemon Curd, Whipping Cream, Powdered Sugar, Vanilla

LEMON BLUEBERRY PIE (serves about 8)

  • 1 Pie Crust
  • 1 Cup Lemon Curd (8 oz)
  • Whipped Cream (I made this from scratch)
  • About 1 Cup Fresh Blueberries

I like to use frozen pie crusts, it saves a lot of time and tastes just the same as a homemade one (in my humble opinion). (I did make a crust by hand for last year’s pie. It’s up to you.) Lay out your pie crust on an 8 inch pie pan and prick the bottom with a fork. Cut the edges off and you can either discard or save to make mini tarts*. Bake in your preheated oven.

While the crust is baking I made fresh whipped cream.

homemade whipped cream

Whipping the cream in my stand mixer. You can also use a hand a mixer.

When your crust is done let it cool before filling it with your lemon curd. Top with your fresh whipped cream and blueberries. Cover and stick in your refrigerator to cool. Serve chilled and enjoy!

Pie Crust

Pie crust fresh from the oven

Lemon Curd Pie Filling

Meyer Lemon curd fills about 3/4″ of the pie

Whipped cream on top of the lemon curd

Whipped cream on top of the lemon curd

Lemon Blueberry Pie

Lemon Blueberry Pie ready for serving!

*To make mini tarts use a muffin pan and make sure you roll out your crust to be about an 1/8″ thick. Bake for about 5 minutes less than what the regular pie crust was baked for. Let cool, fill with custard, top with whipped cream and blueberries. Share with friends and enjoy one for yourself!

Lemon Blueberry Tartlets

With my extra pie crust I made small tartlets for my roommate and I.

2 Responses to “Lemon and Blueberry Pie For Pi Day and Debi Baker”

  1. mydearbakes April 2, 2014 at 3:16 am #

    Really love your bake! It’s just so amazing!

Leave a Reply

