Egg In A Hole

18 Apr

One of the newsletters I subscribe to is Allrecipes.com It’s an online community full of recipes from all over the world. It’s user-generated including ratings and photos. It’s a great resource for any cook. Anyway, one day I was going through my inbox and when I opened their weekly newsletter there was a piece of toast with an egg stuck in the middle staring back at me. It made me smile and want to make one. So one Saturday morning I woke up and fished out a round cookie cutter and made my own Egg In A Hole. Or as my roommate called it when she saw my finished breakfast, a One Eyed Jack. This is an easy way to make your breakfast a little more fun. A lot of people online say that their mom made this for them when they were kids. How about you? What did your parents call it?

Egg In A Hole Ingredients L-R: Butter, Salt & Pepper, Turkey Bacon, Egg, Bread, Mozzarella

Egg In A Hole Ingredients L-R: Butter, Salt & Pepper, Turkey Bacon, Egg, Bread, Mozzarella

EGG IN A HOLE (serves 1)

  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Slices of Bread
  • Butter
  • Cooking Spray
  • Shredded Cheese of your choice (optional)
  • Salt & Pepper

Spread each side of bread with a little bit of butter. Using a cookie cutter (or a knife) cut a hole in the middle of each slice of bread. It should be about 2 inches across. Feel free to use whatever shape you want it to look like. *Side Note: I chose to just make one egg instead of two.*

Sliced bread, egg in a hole breakfast

Cutting the hole in my bread. My cookie cutter was too small so I hand cut a larger hole

Spray your small omelette pan with cooking spray and turn the heat to medium. Place your bread in the pan and once it’s hot, crack your eggs and pour one into each hole. Heat another pan to cook some bacon. The bacon will cook at the same time as your eggs.

Egg in a hole breakfast, mozzarella cheese

Sprinkled mozzarella cheese. Then flipped it over.

If you want to get “fancy”, once the egg white starts to cook sprinkle with the cheese of your choice. Let the cheese start to melt and then flip the bread over to finish cooking the egg.Β  Let cook for another minute then remove to a plate. Enjoy with a nice cup of coffee (I prefer Peet’s) or a glass of fresh OJ.

Egg In A Hole Breakfast

Breakfast is served!

2 Responses to “Egg In A Hole”

  1. Heather R. April 18, 2014 at 3:33 pm #

    My dad called it a “bullseye,” but my husband learned it as a “hole in one.”

Leave a Reply

