Cheesy Chicken and Roasted Potatoes

13 May

One of the things my parents taught me was to always have certain things stocked in my freezer and pantry. If you open my freezer you will always find chicken breasts. If you’ve been following me for a while you’ve probably noticed all the chicken dinners I make using a chicken breast. They are very versatile when it comes to cooking and they’re fun to experiment with. And that’s what I did one night for dinner. I had baby potatoes that were starting to sprout eyes so I knew I wanted to roast them. Once those went in the oven I had to figure out what to make for a protein. There wasn’t much in my fridge so I knew I had to get creative for dinner. I wasn’t going to blog about this (which is why I don’t have any of the potatoes before they went in the oven), but then I realized that it’s these dinners that I create on the fly that are some of my favorites. I hope you enjoy my cheesy chicken too!

Spinach and Mozzarella Cheese, Chicken breast, salt, pepper, dried rosemary

Spinach and Mozzarella Cheese, Not pictured: Chicken breast, salt, pepper, dried rosemary

CHEESY CHICKEN WITH ROASTED POTATOES (serves 2)

  • 1 Chicken Breast
  • About 1/4 Cup Shredded Mozzarella Cheese
  • Olive Oil
  • Fresh or Dried Rosemary
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • About 1/4 Cup Fresh Spinach Leaves
  • About 1 Pound Baby Potatoes

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. While you’re waiting for it to warm up, cut your potatoes into halves or quarters, depending on the size of the potatoes. Spread out on a cookie sheet and drizzle with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper and some of the rosemary. Roast in the oven for about 20 minutes, or until fork tender.

While your potatoes are baking make your cheesy chicken. If your chicken is frozen defrost in the microwave. Then slice up in about 2 inch long pieces.

Cut up your chicken breast into about 2 inch pieces

Cut up your chicken breast into about 2 inch pieces

In a small to medium size fry pan, heat about a tablespoon of olive oil over medium high heat. Once hot, place your chicken pieces in the pan and season with salt, pepper and rosemary.

Saute your chicken breast and season with salt, pepper and rosemary.

Saute your chicken breast and season with salt, pepper and rosemary.

Let cook for about 5 to 7 minutes then turn them over and sprinkle with cheese. After about 5 minutes add fresh spinach and finish cooking for another minute or two. The cheese should melt nicely and the spinach will wilt and combine with the cheese. Remove from heat.

cheesy chicken, mozzarella cheese, fresh spinach, chicken breast

Turn the chicken, add cheese, let it melt then add spinach

Roasted rosemary baby potatoes.

Roasted rosemary baby potatoes.

Once potatoes are finished, remove from oven, serve with your chicken and enjoy!

Cheesy Chicken and Roasted Potatoes

Cheesy Chicken and Roasted Potatoes

Leave a Reply

