French Waffles for Mother’s Day

15 May

Mother’s Day was last Sunday and I was lucky enough to get to spend it with my mom back home. I didn’t make plans of what to cook, so on Sunday morning I asked my mom what she wanted and she said, “You’re not suppose to ask, just do.” So I said I would make French Toast. Except they had run out of bread. WHAT?! I was a little perplexed that my parents were out of bread. But my dad said there were waffles in the freezer. So I said I would make French Waffles. (It made perfect sense in my head.) My mom looked at me like I was a little crazy and then tried hard not to laugh. She was utterly confused, but I now had a great breakfast idea and nothing was going to stop me. The secret to great French Toast is really good bread. Brioche is the best, so I figured using waffles would be an interesting substitute. And it was. We gobbled them up! Happy Mother’s Day Momma!

Helen Bauer, Mother's Day, amazing moms

My AMAZING mom, aka Mama Bauer

FRENCH WAFFLES (serves 3)

  • 6 Waffles
  • 4 Large Eggs
  • About 3 Tbsp Milk
  • 1 Tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 Tsp Allspice
  • Butter
  • Toppings of Your Choice

In a baking dish crack your eggs, add in your milk and whisk together. Add in your cinnamon and allspice and whisk again. Soak three waffles in the mixture. Make sure you coat both sides. Let them sit for about a minute or so. Meanwhile, heat a large nonstick pan and add about a tablespoon of butter. My mom had lemon butter she had made so I used that. (We also used it on the finished product-yum!)

Once the pan is hot add in your soaked waffles. Let cook for a few minutes then flip over and cook for another 2 or 3 minutes. Repeat for each waffle you have. If you have extra egg mixture then cook it up to serve with the rest of your breakfast. (Trust me, they’re really good!)

Serve hot with your choice of toppings. We used more of the lemon butter and topped with what my mom called Baklava Honey. Honey that has been infused with cinnamon, cloves and allspice that she uses when she makes baklava (a Greek dessert). What do you like on your French Toast (or waffles)?

Fresh French Waffles, a Chef Sarah original!

Fresh French Waffles with Lemon Butter and Baklava Honey, a Chef Sarah original!

Leave a Reply

