Thanksgiving 2013: Whipped Ricotta and Appetizers

31 Dec

Any good party has appetizers, and at the Anderson-Bauer Thanksgiving we are no exception. Our appetizers vary a little every year and it’s always a communal effort. This year saw hummus by my mom, a toasted baguette, cream cheese, home smoked salmon by my dad and whipped ricotta dip by yours truly. One of the blogs I subscribe to is Joy The Baker and one day I opened her email to a beautiful picture of whipped ricotta. I was instantly in love. Although I wasn’t sure when I would make it. The moment presented itself when Thanksgiving began to loom and I decided I would make it for our appetizer spread. I sent it to my parents for their approval and to make sure the ingredients were bought, including a baguette for dipping.

In addition to the whipped ricotta, my mom brought her infamous baba ghanoush/hummus dip and my dad smoked his own salmon, which went great with the whipped ricotta dip. For our small gathering of eight people this year, this was the perfect appetizer spread for Thanksgiving this year. Hope you enjoy too!

Whipped Ricotta Ingredients L-R: Half & Half, Cream Cheese, Ricotta, Lemon, Pepper and Salt

Whipped Ricotta Ingredients L-R: Half & Half, Cream Cheese, Ricotta, Lemon, Pepper and Salt

WHIPPED RICOTTA DIP (makes about 2 cups)

  • 1/4 Cup Cream Cheese
  • 2 Cups Whole Milk Ricotta
  • 2 Tbsp Whole Milk (I used Half & Half)
  • 1 Lemon
  • Sea Salt & Fresh Ground Pepper
  • Olive Oil for drizzling
  • Baguette

Pull out your stand mixer with the whisk attachment or a mixing bowl and your electric hand mixer. You don’t want to do this by hand. Beat just the cream cheese so it’s smooth, then stop the mixer and add in the ricotta and the milk. Beat for about 5 minutes on medium speed until the mixture is less grainy and fluffed.

cream cheese and ricotta

Whipping the cream cheese and ricotta.

Instead of adding the lemon zest once it was in the bowl, I took my lemon and zested it right into the mixture, along with about a teaspoon of salt and pepper. I beat it for another 30 to 60 seconds then transferred it to a bowl. I sprinkled a pinch more salt and pepper on top then drizzled some olive oil.

baguettes

toasted baguette

Toasting the baguette slices

Slice up your baguette and toast lightly (or not) and serve with the dip. I topped mine with pieces of the smoked salmon. Delicious! Enjoy!

Whipped Ricotta and Toasted Baguette

Whipped Ricotta and Toasted Baguette

Whipped Ricotta, Toasted Baguette, Hummus, Cream Cheese, Smoked Salmon

Whipped Ricotta, Toasted Baguette, Hummus, Cream Cheese, Smoked Salmon

Leave a comment