Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies for Trainspotting

21 Mar

For the end of January and all of February I was in rehearsals for my next play, “Trainspotting“. We opened on March 9th and our giant cast of 20+ actors had become very close throughout the rehearsal process and we couldn’t wait for our party after the show. And in true Sarah B. fashion, I made cookies for our semi-potluck party: Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies. This was a recipe my dad sent to me a while back that I had been meaning to try for some time. He got it from Michael Symon, an Iron Chef and one of the co-hosts of the daytime talk show The Chew on ABC. It was on The Chew that my dad got the recipe. He went online, downloaded it, baked them and loved them. When picking a recipe for the opening night party I thought these would make a great choice. I didn’t have to buy anything extra that I didn’t already have in my cupboards. And dad was right, they were delicious! So delicious that I made them again about a week later as a gift for someone. I hope you enjoy these as much as I do! *Note: Original recipe calls for sprinkling sea salt on top, I chose not to, mostly because I didn’t have any in the house.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie Ingredients L-R: Salt, Flour, Chocolate Chips, White Sugar, Brown Sugar, Egg, Baking Soda, Cocoa Powder, Crisco (butter), Baking Powder, Vanilla

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie Ingredients L-R: Salt, Flour, Chocolate Chips, White Sugar, Brown Sugar, Egg, Baking Soda, Cocoa Powder, Crisco (butter), Baking Powder, Vanilla

CHOCOLATE CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES (about 5 dozen)

Dry Ingredients

Dry Ingredients

Dry Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 Cup Flour
  • 1/4 Cup Cocoa Powder
  • 1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 Tsp Salt
Butter (I used Crisco) and the sugars ready for mixing

Butter (I used Crisco) and the sugars ready for mixing

Wet Ingredients

  • 1/2 Cup Butter
  • 1/2 Cup White Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 Tsp Vanilla
  • 3/4 Cup Chocolate Chips

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees. Combine your dry ingredients in a medium bowl and set aside. In a large mixing bowl or your stand mixer blend together your butter and sugars. Mix until smooth. Then add your egg and vanilla, mixing well. On your lowest setting, slowly add in your dry ingredient mixture, about 1/4 cup at a time. Make sure all the dry ingredients get mixed in before adding more. (If you use Crisco instead of real butter, don’t forget to add the one tablespoon of water.) Unlike regular chocolate chips, your dough will become a big ball once all the dry ingredients have been mixed in. Add in your chocolate chips and mix until blended.

Adding in the egg and vanilla

Adding in the egg and vanilla

Blend until smooth

Blend until smooth

Adding in the dry ingredients

Adding in the dry ingredients

Almost ready for the chocolate chips.

Almost ready for the chocolate chips.

So many chocolate chips! I mixed those in by hand.

So many chocolate chips! I mixed those in by hand.

Depending on how big you want your cookies depends on big you make the balls. I wanted small cookies so there would be more to go around at the party. I made them about an inch or less. There are a lot of chocolate chips (even after reducing the original call from 1 cup to 3/4 cup) so just be aware that as you make the small balls each cookie will have a lot more chips than a regular chocolate chip cookie.

Ready for the oven!

Ready for the oven!

If you choose to sprinkle with sea salt, then flatten the balls slightly and sprinkle, otherwise, just leave as is and bake for 9-11 minutes, depending on your oven and size of cookies. Start at 9 and if they need another minute bake another minute. Let cool for a couple of minutes on the cookie sheet before moving to a wire rack. Best with a glass of milk! Or a glass of red wine! Ha! Enjoy!

They stayed fluffy.

They stayed fluffy.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

4 Responses to “Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies for Trainspotting”

  1. Ben March 21, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

    My mouth witnessed these – they were yummers!!! Thanks Sarah!!!
    PS: If another batch ever appeared WITH the sea salt – I’d totally be game to give ’em a taste – I love salt!

    • actinglikeachef March 21, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

      Thanks Ben! And I’ll let you know if I make them again! Maybe for closing…..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TRAINSPOTTING-Learning To Be Scottish | Acting Like A Chef - April 8, 2013

    […] had a fantastic opening night, remember the cookies I made? And the show has been getting great reviews and we received word that we were extending to […]

  2. Empire Biscuits-Traditional Scottish Cookies | Acting Like A Chef - June 10, 2013

    […] Saturday afternoon and evening free so I decided to make cookies for our strike party. Remember the chocolate cookies I made for opening night? This time around I wanted to do a traditional Scottish cookie in honor of […]

Leave a comment